1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B20 VTEC SWAP into 6th GEN Civic

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by khai_tuan_nguyen, Jul 7, 2003.

  1. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Hi I am putting a B20B w a B16 head into my 1997 Civic coupe HX. I am using a GSR ECU.The GSR's MPH goes to like 140 and mine goes to 120. My question is will i need a new speedometer or have it recalibrated or anything like that. I am using a hydro tranny. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    No, it should read the signal the same, I am using a VX cluster on my B16A.
     
  3. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    any other confirmations. I read something about it matters whether it is a hydro or cable tranny.
     
  4. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Nope. Use your stock cluster, or any other Civic cluster that matches your 6G Civic. You could use the 99-00 Si cluster if you really wanted to. I was using a 92-95 EX/Si cluster in my 95 DX sedan with a B20/VTEC setup, and now I'm going to be using the same cluster with a GSR engine. It works, trust me. Don't worry too much about transmission type. Hopefully you're using a hydraulic clutch transmission... the selection is SO much better than cable clutch transmissions, and it also fits into your car a LOT easier.
     
  6. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    yup, no differences. Use any units from your chassis code and your fine.


    Milan
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page