1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B20avtec?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by civvy, Jun 25, 2004.

  1. civvy

    civvy Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    If I build a really tough bottom end using the intechangable parts from other B series engines and forged pistons, can I put a Vtec head on my B20a1?

    Its the 2nd generation Lude i've got! its in very good condition and its the lightest of them all, so it is a good car for a good project!

    Im sure someone did it with the B20a5 from the 3rd gen. and they use the same integrals as the B20a1!

    Civvy
     
  2. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/
    Temple of VTEC:

     
  3. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    ive read somewhere the head bolts dont line up. someone had a kit; but it was too much work and not much people wanted it.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ludespeed had a conversion kit to put a B16A head on a B20A block, but he doesn't sell it anymore (hasn't for about 3 years), and I'm not even sure if his site is up either. You might want to search for it on Google.
     
  5. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/
    I don't even know how big the power gains would really be with that setup...if you find a way to do the conversion, post up the #'s. I'd be interested in seeing them.
     
  6. civvy

    civvy Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Had an idea! because of all the torque, how about i turbo it (getting peak power at about 3500rpm and limit the vtec to 7000rpm???

    Thus, reducing bottom end failure due to overeving?
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    boosting it is a better idea that putting the head on...

    but good luck finding a manifold
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Apparently they are prone to overheating too, I know I have seen two on post here smoking like Cheech.
     
  9. civvy

    civvy Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    O.K. I forget the V-TEC issues!

    It seems less than cost effective! If i can only rev it the same as what i can by putting in a pair of higher duration cams then there's no point!

    I am now thinking of the Turbo route! If I turbo (increase the torque) i dont want to decrease the torque by increasing the cam duration?

    Also if i'm on the right tracks there! what else shouldn't i do to the head (resulting in torque loss)? i.e. Flowbenching and big valve conversion.

    Lastly (if i was quite right above) which, then is going to be the best results? going Turbo or a maxed out N/A?
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    You can have a very effective turbo setup on the stock head!

    Most Honda engines do very well on stock cams under boost!

    If you want to save cost, leave the engine completely stock and then bolt up the turbo!

    Your best results for the money would be to go with a turbo system!

    Maxed out N/A is great for a good number of applications, but for all out power a turbo is the way to go!

    !

    !!!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. civvy

    civvy Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Well, i think thats my answer!

    Nice one, cheers dude!
     
  12. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    anyone else heard that this is one of the worst honda blocks..... very weak
     
  13. civiceg6

    civiceg6 Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    You can enlarge the hole on the B16A head and bolt it on. I fergot what was the size of the drill bit used.

    Just need a custom head gasket and for the oil passage. It's already there so you don't have to mess with tapping the head or anything like that. No oil kits needed.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page