1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battery connected backwards

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by assman, Feb 22, 2004.

1. assman

assman Senior Member

what happens if the battery is connected backwards positive on ground and ground on positive
  2. MXDesa

MXDesa Senior Member

Media:
    Well lets see, Im a technician at a hyundai dealership, and i actually worked on a car before where some genious installed a optima battery backwards as you just quesioned. Bellow is a list of what i had to fix/replace:

1. Underhood Fuses and Fuse Box
    2. Main engine harness
    3. Underdash/Cabin SRS Harness
    4. Electronic Satellite Airbag Sensors
    5. One Negative battery Cable.

Total - $2840 Plus labor

It all depends for how long you leave the battery connected that way. He apparantly left it on until everything was fried and the cable on the battery melted away. If you leave it on for a second or two you may just pop some fuses, either way, it will cause some damage.
  3. tab

tab Super Moderator

Media:

:bo: :bo: :bo:
  4. hcivic.com

hcivic.com Senior Member

i have fixed a car in shop that had the same thing happen we only had to replace select wires and all the underhood fuses due to the fact the car had a battery fuse it saved alot of the car
  5. Canuck 93 Civic Si

Canuck 93 Civic Si Senior Member

You mean the car didnt just run backwards :huh: .
  6. Jeef

Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator

Media:
    Albums: