1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

battery relocate and redoing grounds

Discussion in 'Integra' started by monty92, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    what would i need to relocate the battery in the trunk? If i redo all the main power wires and grounds to the same guage as my power wire, does anyone know if that'll help with my headlights diming when my stereo hits?
     
  2. billcass

    billcass New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    nope, the only thing that will help u would be a capacitor(s) or a bigger battery or alternator. Dont think caps will always fix it though, i have a capacitor and my head lights still dim horribly if i have it turned up high. they do help though
     
  3. OGMatt

    OGMatt Not a real OG lol

    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    vic B.C. Japanada
    Are you sure you have a seald battery?
     
  4. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Sealed battery or a real "sealed"/vented battery box.
    2 gauge wire minimum. Bigger if you have a gnarly system in your car.
    Grounds as normal, but in the rear, I would suggest grounding to both the shock tower and the rear bumper support for a good solid ground. And yes, a properly sized capacitor and a good working alternator should fix the dimming issues.
     
  5. monty92

    monty92 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    regina, sask
    the alternator has been rebuilt i was talking to an installed and he said if u match ur factory grounds for your motor and you battery to the same gauge as your power wire it should help with that issue to cause less restriction. so i was wondering if anyone knew or has done that. for putting the battery in the trunk i was told i could get away with a 4 gauge anyone know if its true?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page