1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can someone tell me what ECU this is

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by TeamUrbanChaos, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers
    cam someone tell me what ECU this is??? its suppsoe to be P28 but when i compared it to some other p28's...it dosent seem to look the same. can someone please verify for me

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    maybe its an auto ecu. have you plugged it up yet? if so any cel's? whats the full ecu code?
     
  3. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers
    i dont have the ECU yet ...someones suppsoe to be selling it to me but before i actually buy it i wanna verify that its an actual p28
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i have a obd1 pr3 for sale
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    if i see you spamming this damn ecu in the tech forums again you're getting a warning. stop. put it in your sig or something.


    as for the OP question, i have no idea... i can't see a damn thing.
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA

    hey sorry bout that....didnt even realize where i was posting....you wont see it anymore...its sold
     
  7. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    get a picture of the side, where the markings are.
     
  8. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers
    i can get any better pics than that because it in an auction on ebay...the best i can give you is the link to the auction:

    P28 ecu

    basically ive compared this ecu to other p28 and they all look the same except for this one. this one had the extra 2 resistors that i had pointed out above. besides that the rest of the ecu looks to be ok but...i still need an opinion.
     
  9. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I think it's an Auto ecu?
    Isn't that how 'they' convert the p28 auto to manual is to cut 2 resistors?
     
  10. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Pic from the auction:

    [​IMG]

    Skunk2 chipped for a b16 from decription.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers




    i think so but if you look in his pics it dosent look converted
     
  12. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
  13. xenocron

    xenocron Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bergen Co., NJ
    Looks converted to me. The guy that chipped it just wasnt smart enough to take out the two SI5151s from the ECU to use in another.
     
  14. nightshift

    nightshift Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    SOUTH AFRICA
    that ecu is for an automatic transmission,i clearly remember looking at some site the other day where the differences were pointed out between the automatc ecu's and the manual ecu's the manual ecu would have 1 of those.
     
  15. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    [​IMG]
    you can clearly see in this pic that it is (or was originally) an automatic tranny ecu because the second to last number is a 5.
    read here: http://www.hondaswap.com/~pills/autotomanual.html

    you can also see that in this pic, the housing of the ecu has a different serial number on it, meaning that it is not the original housing for that ecu... just something else to be aware of.
    [​IMG]

    also, i would not trust that "chip" and would only buy that ecu if you are planning on having it tuned, or getting a chip with a stock honda rom put in there.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page