1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car wont start

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by civicious, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :whew:

    okay, im in the final stages of putting a JDM B16A into my 98 Civic LX. I've got an obd2 IM, tranny, and my dizzy is wired for obd2. my ecu is an obd2 P72 from a 96 GSR.

    paid fuckin' $653.17 for an EX harness from Honda, put it on today.


    so i get everything wired up. I had to extend the wires for the o2 sensor, the VTEC solenoid wire, and the VTEC pressure switch wire.

    I had 4 plugs left over:

    1. evap purge solenoid, on the injector row. i don't have any evap purge stuff, so i expected to have this one.
    2. plug that i assume plugs into the evap purge canister. 2-wire, square black plug. it's in that location.
    3. crank angle sensor plug. 3-wire plug down by the alternator. the obd0 motor doesn't have a CAS.
    4. unknown plug right by IACV. same style plug as the IACV plug. there are 2 plugs back there, one of them is on the same extension as the TPS. i plugged the one that wasn't on the same extension as the TPS into the IACV, because the one thats with the TPS i had to stretch to get it to the IACV.


    im 99% sure i have everything wired right. i mean, shit, everything pretty much corresponded with the motor.

    so i go to crank it, and it wont start. it turned over, and would catch and then miss.

    :doh:

    so i put my spark plug wires in the right order.

    now, it catches much smoother, but won't crank. it'll catch and idle for a second, and then die.

    my oil light is on on the dash, so i check my oil. surprise! my dipstick isn't in, and i put it in and it's dry. bone dry. i think the dickwads at Outlaw drained my oil. homos.

    so i go and buy four quarts of dollar-store oil, cuz theres nothing else within 20 miles of me. put that in there, and nothing changes. oil light still on, car still wont start and stay cranked.

    i tried to jump the access plug thingie so i could read the CEL, but it didnt flash. it jus sat there.



    help? anyone?
     
  2. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    TPS voltage good?
     
  3. slammedb18acivic

    slammedb18acivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    pa
    definitly check the tps voltage, let us know how you make out should be .4
     
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    dont know how i'd do that...


    but it should start without the tps thogh, right? friend of mine had a b16 in a crx with NO tps, and it ran. idled fucked up, but it ran....


    could it possibly be because of the lack of a CAS?
     
  5. H22AdelSol

    H22AdelSol Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    san diego, california
    multi meter is your friend
     
  6. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/

    yes it will start without the TPS sensor working. my brothers tps wasn't working before either, the only thing that pissed him off was that he couldn't read the throttle % on his VAFC and his idle was gh3y so he got a new one (tps).
     
  7. slick*vic*

    slick*vic* Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    well i know this sound stupid but when i did my swap the connector for the map and tps were the same and i had them swapped....my car did the same and your describing.. try swapping them....just a suggestion
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page