1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CEL for no apperant reason

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Cashizslick, Feb 14, 2005.

  1. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Hey guys,

    i was drivin around today on my way home from runnin some errands. On my way home i opened up my car a lil bit since it had just rained. I reved all the way thru first (8.2k) and the tires just spun when i shifted to second so i let off the gas.

    About 30 seconds later the CEL comes on. I shut off the car, start it back up no prob and the CEL is gone (this hasnt happened before). Then, about 5 minutes later i start smellin something like smoke, but there wasnt anthing i could see (visible smoke). The car ended up driving home fine, and i didnt hear any weird sounds or get anymore smoke when inside the car.

    I opened the hood and had me a look see when i got home. The intake filter was on fine and i didnt see anything goin on. THere was no smoke coming from the engine bay and i didnt smell anything weird, but when i played with the throttle the motor slightly hummed as it revved up (it doesnt normally sound like that).

    ANy ideas?

    - thanks


    BTW< i didnt know if this should be in the Swap form since its not swap related.

    Car Info:
    1994 Civic Ex, JDM B16A (0bd1), only mods = Intake, 2 1/4 inch piping, stock muffler.
     
  2. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Bump.
     
  3. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    check the code, because they dont just erase. You know how to do it in a 5th gen right?
     
  4. 88bluehf

    88bluehf Senior Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Denton,TX
    quite often they can just erase themselves on obd1...they rarely get rid of themselves on obd2...i use to through knock cells all the time with the same engine and then they would just go away.
     
  5. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    i have to run some more errands today as well, ill let u guys know whats goin on with it.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Check the code- it could be anything, and there's no way to really tell what it is from what you posted.
     
  7. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003


    WHere is the connector located for checking the code?

    I can use a paperclip to bridge the connection right?

    - thanks
     
  8. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
  9. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
  10. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Hey guys, i found these wires - is the small one im holding the right one to bridge?

    - thanks i just wanna make sure.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  11. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    yes those are the 2 plugs you need.
     
  12. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003



    So i just bend a paperclip into a U shape and carefully put it in there - then turn the key to the ignition position right?

    BTW< those wires have been there forever and have NEVER been plugged in since i got my swap finished a year ago (i didnt do it obvoiusly, or i wouldnt ask these questions lol)

    thanks a lot
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page