1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CEL is on and I need help

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by civicrus, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. civicrus

    civicrus Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Almost a year ago I had a auto to manual convertion done. And they reprogrammed my ECU with CHROME. But now when i am driving down the road my CEL comes on. And when I shut off my car and start it again it out until I start driving again. I know my ECU is throwing a error code, but here is my weird question. I have been underneath my glovebox and around my ECU and I still can't find the 2 prong connector to put a paper clip in and find out what is my error code, can anyone HELP? its a p28 ECU(auto) reprogrammed for manual. Thanks.
     
  2. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    it actually might be plugged into something....not just hangin around...my bros hatch was like dat....its blue and might be plugged into like a lil white square type thing.....try lookin real good...if u still cant find it.....take sum pics around that area so we can see wuts up...later bro
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Drop your glove box all the way down and look towards the passenger side with a flashlight.
     
  4. civicrus

    civicrus Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Thanks guys, I found it and its flashing me a code 17 which is VSS.
     
  5. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    plug might be unplugged onthe tranny or the sensor is bad...check it out and get back to us and let us know how it went
    :mrgreen:
     
  6. civicrus

    civicrus Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    I check the plug and it plugged in, it might be my cluster. But my tach and my other gauges work. My speedo sometimes works but not very often. How can I check my cluster to see if its bad?
     
  7. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Your cluster being bad is not going to throw a CEL. IF the wiring is good, then I would say the speed sensor has an intermittant problem. If that is the case, replace the sensor.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page