1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Circuit / PCB layout

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by CRX-YEM, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Anyone here do any PCB or schematic design layouts, if so what software are you using ??
     
  2. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    if i woulda known this earlier today or yesterday, i coulda got you an answer since i work at an electronics manufacturing place. if you dont get an answer by tomorrow, i will find out and let ya know sometime tomorrow afternoon.
     
  3. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
  4. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    yeah I have a copy of Diptrace as well, but it's not really that great, dxf import isn't adequate, it's also difficult to layout pcb, it tdoesn't thave 0402 sized smt components, I use multisim for my circuit simulations, So I was thinking about utiliboard, I see national instruments has purchased multisim now and the costs have increased accordingly, so I was curious what everyone else is using.
     
  5. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Have you looked at Eagle PCB or expresspcb, i know they're most likely very simple programs. I just figure if you really needed some heavy-duty shit you'd have it.
     
  6. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Pencil and paper v1.0. That's what I use :)
     
  7. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    We use Autocad, prolly not the fastest way but it allows us to lay multiple layers over each other. This way we can test fit the board in the housing and blah blah blah.
     
  8. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    yeah I'm using autocad as well, but the dxf import function on diptrace sucks, I need to be able to generate gerber data for the pcb manufacturer
     
  9. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I think we plot them, then have them photo'd and use the negative for the manufacturer.
     
  10. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
  11. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    There is a promising job for you at IBM!
     
  12. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Especially if you chat in adult chat rooms!!
     
  13. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Hey, never said I do quad layer boards and surface mount work, just told ya what I use.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page