1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computers suck

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by preluderjs, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. preluderjs

    preluderjs Senior Member

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    san diego
    I have a vaio laptop that was working fine a couple days ago but now for some reason all the programs that use the internet to function (AIM, firefox, WMP, ares, etc.) wont connect to it. When I open a command prompt window and check for an ip address it shows that the computer is recieving a connection. Anyone seen anything like this before? What can I do to change whats going on? Thanks for the help in advance.
     
  2. Mattyg2

    Mattyg2 Junior Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Location:
    The hills, CA
    give me more on the problem, if it doesnt work after restarting the computer then its prolly something with your router if you have one or modem if you broadband internet, reset the modem and router if you have one
     
  3. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Sounds like a DHCP issue. can you renew your IP address?
     
  4. allmotord16rex

    allmotord16rex Senior Member

    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    First, check on the back where your network cable plugs in. Make sure the connection is alive by verifying if the green light is on. Just to make sure your NIC card didnt take a crap on you. Second, did you install a software firewall like ZoneAlarm recently? Some firewalls will require you to give permission to access the "trusted zone" which is usually your ip address.
     
  5. One Stop Customs

    One Stop Customs Senior Member

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    eh, try going into the most recent topics that everyone is raving about and when you click on the link, pictures or the new page won't show bc you have netnanny or some stupidity like that at work :(

    :blink:
     
  6. preluderjs

    preluderjs Senior Member

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    san diego


    ha, i dont know that much about computers like the NIC card but theres been no new software installed recently that i know of.

    Thanks for the suggestions guys.
     
  7. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    DHCP = automatic assignment of IP address. Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol. :p

    He means to check the lights where the network cable plugs in.

    Try doing this.

    in your command prompt, type "ipconfig /release"

    then "ipconfig /renew"

    without the quotes obviously.
     
  8. preluderjs

    preluderjs Senior Member

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    san diego
    I just tried the release and renew for the IP, I dont think it did much, but after playing around w/ firefox for a little bit i found that if i keep hitting refresh or clicking links for about 15 to 25 seconds non-stop the pages load. I'm starting to think its some kind of internal hardware failure or somethng, fuck it... I think I'm just going to call it quits till I let someone play around with it because this shit is weird, hardly any consistencies. Thanx anyway.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page