1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

converting obdII to obdI

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by brasilianstreet, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    how do i do this what do i need new ? i have a b16 si head b18 ls block and b16 jdm obdII tranny and im puting it into my obdII 96 ex coupe i heard to do a ls-vtec with my set up i need obdI in my car?
     
  2. tiNee

    tiNee Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    why not just buy a jumper that hooks up to the ecu harness that lets you run obd1 ecus :)
     
  3. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,017
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    why would you need to go OBD-1???

    if the engine is OBD-2 and the car is OBD-2 then i dont see why you would have to run it OBD-1
     
  4. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    run everything as you would in an obd2 car. then get something like the skunk2 ecu harness that just transfers the every thing over so that you can run an OBD1 ecu. simple.
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    you going to want to keep in mind the implications you might run into with emissions testing as well. as most states now for obd-II cars just plug into the ALDL conenctor to look for engine codes.
     
  6. brasilianstreet

    brasilianstreet Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    o well i had someone tell me that i had to tranfer my car into obdII ? so your saying i wouldnt have to
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page