1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D15B vtec swap wiring

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Kracer427, Feb 23, 2004.

  1. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    just recently picked up a D15B VTEC engine and noticed that it has a one wire o2 sensor on it. Will the one wire o2 sensor plug and play with the one-wire plug from my stock CX harness? I'm also planning on running the engine off of a P28, so will i need to get a four wire sensor instead?
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    pretty sure the P28 requires a 4 wire O2
     
  3. krazykoncept

    krazykoncept Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    I thing you can use the P07, I thing it's from the vx engine, might be one wire o2
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    the vx has 5 wires... wont work
     
  5. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
  6. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    thanks sol. probably would have been the bug leaving me wondering why the engine wouldn't run right. :blink:
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    didnt you get the ECU for the D15B with the swap???

    if not you could probly get away with running a p28 as long as you convert to a 4 wire O2..... VTEC and fuel maps wont be quite right ... but its nothing a VAFC couldnt fix
     
  8. civic92jak

    civic92jak Senior Member

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Hey, i just bought a D15B swap also. Think you could help me along the way also. And as for an ecu. I dont' have it either. How much is a four wire 02 sensor? someone please let me know as i am swapping it into my 92 Civic DX.
     
  9. Kracer427

    Kracer427 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    the DX probably has a four wire but i'm not sure, too lazy to bust out the manual. Usually only the "economy" or "enhanced performance" engines have retarded o2 sensors. i tried buying a new one, LOL $285! Fug dat. the four wire sensor SHOULD only be like $60. If your swapping this engine into your DX, I would go the same route i'm going. Ditch the DX tranny and pick up an EX/Si one off of a D16Z6 for like $150-300. The tranny's like to blow for some reason and the gearing on the EX is WAY better. I thought about using the stock tranny until i realized i could take first gear to 45mph and second to 85! Closer ratios:more fun for high rpm engine. make sure to upgrade the clutch (exedy is great)and flywheel (better acceleration) cuz if you like driving crazy like i do, BBQ stock disc mmmmmm. at least you didn't buy into the B-series craze :blah:, good for you. it's always great being the underdog :nutkick: i wish the ECU came with it, but i decided the P28 would be "okay" cuz the head is off of an Z6 so why not? i had a friend who was getting rid of it anyways. the best part is going outside and soaking in the VTECness of it, in my opinion the best D-series made with a great r/s ratio and plenty of power on tap :worthy:
     
  10. civic92jak

    civic92jak Senior Member

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    I agree. I will see about usin my stock o2sensor. I ordered the P08 ecu last night. Costin me $135shipped from japan. My engine came with the S20 5speed tranny. I believe its the stock tranny that comes with the motor. But yea, i really don't care for b series as i am not lookin for all out balls to the walls power. Just something to have fun with. And the D15B is by far the best d series motor you can get.

    Oh yeah, i have an act clutch kit on the motor, so i don't have to worry about that.
     
  11. HondaMoCo

    HondaMoCo Senior Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    lancaster/palmdale So Cal
    i fuck with these d15b's all the time, they run fine on the p28's and just a tad bit faster on the p08, not enough to want to spend the money on one, but enough to use it over the p28 if you had the choice, and just use the 4 wire o2, i think E sol had the instructions on wiring up the 4 wire. your gonna have fun with that motor, it loves to rev and its pretty quick, i had the same set up, a d15b in a cx, and i never ran it at the track,but i was pullin 0-60 in 7.4 seconds, not too bad
     
  12. flappy188

    flappy188 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    where did u guys get ur motors from? i am intrested in getting one!
     
  13. civic92jak

    civic92jak Senior Member

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Lucky for you man i can hook you up with guy that is sellin one. hitm e up on aim at civic92jak or jakmiller on msn or yahoo. Otherwise email me and i will hook you up with the motor.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page