1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d15b7 to h22a swap

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by HugoX, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. HugoX

    HugoX New Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    San Pablo Ca
    hey i finally decided what engine i want to swap. An H22a into my 95 civic dx body. i wanted to know what i needed for the swap. do i have to modify the engine bay? i know i would need to get some new coilovers to support the weight but which ones. also how would the exhaust system fit?
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2009
  2. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    Hey man doing the same swap as you like right now... basicly what your going to need is an H22A obd1 I would recomend keeping the car the same obd, makes life easyer, right now I have a 2, and were bringing back to 1... lol.... Next is a trany lmao, 3rd is mounts.... quite a few companys make mounts for the H22 swap, just look around, I went with the HASPORT Billet EGH2 Set up for my swap... they look as tho they will Fit quite nicely... Now the tricky part... The motor has to come from underneath we figured out if ya want to have the trany on, other wise its a pain.... Next is I dont like AC so I removed it... The Powerstearing pump belt is going to be inches away from you left headlight area rad support so becareful when installing... Another thing is get the proper ECU, I dont have 1 atm, so were going to run it off my p28 eek!.... Lastly I would recomend a Slim Fan for ya Rad, I went with a full rad and got to slim Fans, as the headers come close to the Rad and if u go turbo, gunna be tight... Lastly is they Do make intakes both Ingen and AEM make a H swap intake for are cars.... Other then that I have Tein Street Sport Coil Overs for front and rear of my car.... Hope this answers most of ya questions... oh Buy a motor with an Oil pan on the bottom, mine dont have 1 lmao
     
  3. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    Oh BTW, Motor Cost me $3500K with a trade, Mouts are $645.21 Cents shiped to my Door... Royal Purple was $50 for 5qt's, NGK Plugs and Wires were $103.17, Rad Fluid was like $25, My time is so far 13 hours.... A new brain is proably going to be $80-120, and Exedy stage 1 clutch was $330.29, also my Exedy Flywheel was $470.21, and the tien was about $1300 after taxes.... but ya I still need breaks, oh and a Magna Flow exauhst + hi flow cat was $500 and DC sports header I already had... :)... so thats what? about 7 Grand... and me and some of my very helpful freinds are doing the swap... But all the info I got for u. After 13 Hours we have 1 motor out, and the H22 Suspeded with an engine hoiest for the night
     
  4. toub18c

    toub18c New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    millwaukee
  5. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    I would onestly say your going to need the B Series mounts, as for why he cut it off I wouldnt have a fricken clue, had he done it the right way and got the HASport or something simplar for mounts, then they should have bolted right up no cutting involved... we'd need pictures for this
     
  6. toub18c

    toub18c New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    millwaukee
    dose the h22aftermarket mount fit on my b16a trany? plz help
     
  7. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    I dont beleive so, that would be a good question, im almost sure it dont
     
  8. toub18c

    toub18c New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    millwaukee
    so i should just take it to auto bodyshop and tell them to fix it?
     
  9. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    if you have the money to do it ya, but take it to a place thats fimliar with swaps
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
  11. xplicitcivic94

    xplicitcivic94 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
     
  12. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    sigh* yes your Dx is OBd1 and yes u will need the obd1 jumper if the harness is obd2 tho I would recomend changing the motor to obd1
     
  13. xplicitcivic94

    xplicitcivic94 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    what was the sigh for...lol. jp///how cani tell if the harness is obd2 or not? i have the p13 ecu(obd1 i think) but im going to swap to a gsr ecu. ive hard that its better ecu with this swap and turbo...true?
     
  14. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    The ECU depends on how its maped, I have 0 exp on the GSR ecu's I just ran a crome stage 3 on my p28 so idk
     
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Whatever ECU you have will need to be chipped and tuned if you plan on going turbo. With that said, the P72 GS-R and P28 Civic ECUs will be easier to tune then the P13...
     
  16. 99EKH22

    99EKH22 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    mass/florida
    also dont forget to run vtech wires and check the wires for ur map sensor i think they need to be switched
     
  17. xplicitcivic94

    xplicitcivic94 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    off subject...but why is the p13 the most hated ecu around? why is it so hard to remap?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page