D16 auto to b16 auto

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Ignorant import guy

I would like to know how difficult it is to swap from a d16 vtec with an automatic transmission to a b16 with an automatic transmission. I personally have never done a swap so every detail would help. Is it just swapping the motor, ecu, and mounts then plugging everything back in? Would I be smarter to pay to have it done since I am a novice. Any links to a diy thread would be appreciated but I already searched this site and can't find what I need. By the way I have an ek with a d16y8. Thanks in advance

You will need to do this...

1) google search for b-series swap guides
2) get your wallet out
3) order the swap guide
4) read it a couple times and learn

Spoon-feeding isn't our forte', but pointing you in the right direction is. This swap is of different generations. To start you off, you need a b series engine/tranny (auto), from integra LS. Finding an auto b16 tranny is like finding a hooker without the package. Just do an auto LS swap and it will be much easier. Your in for a world of fun.

well I found where I can get the swap with an auto tranny. I planned on getting a guide just wanted to know if it's a smooth swap with minimal wiring.

the swap comes with the ecu. I guess what i'm really asking is does the engine harness have to be replaced with a new one or can i just put the engine and tranny in and plug the ecu and engine wiring in?

Is there a reason why you're wanting to keep this automatic? If I was dropping a dual-cam VTEC motor into an automatic car I'd for sure convert it to manual.