1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16 Builds Mini-Me

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by natalcarlos, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. natalcarlos

    natalcarlos New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Gordon GA
    Hi ppl I got in my hands a cylinder head and intake manifold y8 and the wire harness extracted from a Civic ex 2000 that was totaled. The Civic was automatic so i didn't mind grabbing the ECU because mine is manual. Did I do right or wrong by leaving that ECU and what ECU can I look for the best output?? I read S40 tranny is the shit I got one from a Junkyard, when I broke the old tranny seals one time and lock up on me. I also read that S40 comes in all 96-00 Civic but the EX S40 is what I should look for. How do I know what type of S40 I have (if they have differences from each other)?? I see a bar code and some numbers after S40 is that a way to know which one I have?? Thanks any info or links will be appreciate.
     
  2. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    An auto ECU will not run a manual car correctly so good choice on that. You need a P2P ECU for a manual if you want to stay OBD2, but be careful because there are two versions. One is OBD2A which is for 96-98 engine harnesses and OBD2B which is for 99-00 harnesses. Also FYI the EX harness doesn't have the 2nd O2 sensor in it because the EX has it on the cabin harness so you will have to add it if staying OBD2. Also Auto EX has 3-wire IACV but manual has 2-wire so that will also have to be changed.
     
  3. natalcarlos

    natalcarlos New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Gordon GA
    P2P ok if I want to stay OBD2, sure that been a y8 stuff from a 2000 EX I guess the wire harness goes with the OBD2 B as you explain. How about my tranny, do I have to call Honda and give them the code on the tag of the tranny?
     
  4. natalcarlos

    natalcarlos New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Gordon GA
    Can I go ODB 1??? I want to install a Hondata but I friend of mine told the only way to achieve that was by going ODB 1. Any info on that?
     
  5. XpL0d3r

    XpL0d3r New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Yes you can't really do too much with OBD2 ECU's. You can go OBD1, but for some states (like mine, for example) you won't be able to pass inspection.
     
  6. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    To go OBD1 you will need a jumper harness and an ECU programmed to run your setup and yes if you go OBD1 you will be emissions illegal. Although this is only a problem if they check for that sort of thing where you live.
     
  7. natalcarlos

    natalcarlos New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Gordon GA
    I'll have issues if I go to California I believe
     
  8. natalcarlos

    natalcarlos New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Gordon GA
    But and I forgot to ask...Why I'll be emission Illegal going OBD1 aren't a way to fix that Issue?
     
  9. RoughKnight

    RoughKnight Christmas Car

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ont
    To downgrade the technology (OBD2 to OBD1 to OBD0) on your car is illegal. Mostly due to safety reasons, but some states don't care. Either go OBD1 and get a guy on the inside to sneak you through, or go obd2.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page