1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

D16a6 w/ D16z6 VTEC Head into 95 Civic EX Possible

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by hmtcrxsir, May 28, 2005.

  1. hmtcrxsir

    hmtcrxsir Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Since my D16z6 engine is jack up. and i have an extra complete D16a6 engine. I was wondering if I can use the lower block of the D16a6 and the top block from the D16z6 VTEC head and use the existing OBD1 stuff from the D16z6 and switch it over to the D16a6 block. Oh btw, this is going into my 95 Civic EX. You think it would work? Or do i need to buy another D16z6 engine? Shit, and would it pass smog if i did this?
     
  2. hmtcrxsir

    hmtcrxsir Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    i guess no one knows.
     
  3. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Yes it would work... there isnt a 'top block' there is a block and a head. :lol:
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Whether it will pass smog is determined by where you are located.
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup. It won't pass in California, but it'll pass just about everywhere else. Use the Z6 head and all your Z6 OBD1 hardware and you'll be fine.
     
  6. hmtcrxsir

    hmtcrxsir Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005


    but wont pass smog? So why bother?
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    In California head swaps are illegal, but we don't know if he is in cali, in not, than he is fine.
     
  8. CRIXICAN

    CRIXICAN Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005



    the head will bolt on and asid from a new head and intake gskts (use the z6 stuff and pop out the risticter in the oil feed line), adn correct timeing belt theres very you need to make it work. I'll have to get back to you on the T-belt.
     
  9. crxguy88

    crxguy88 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    will that be stronger than the stock z6?
     
  10. gabe_nogara

    gabe_nogara New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Teresa
    timing belt

    the timing belt ur going to use
    has to match the water pump
    that's it
     
  11. SWAPPED_94CIVICVX

    SWAPPED_94CIVICVX New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    YAKIMA AND ABERDEEN
    mini me swap

    i thought that combo of an EF d16a6 SI bottom end with a y8/z6 head combo is called a MINI ME SWAP.correct me


    if it was me i would just spend the money on the z6 if its almost all there
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yes, but "mini-me" loosely refers to pretty much any D block with a VTEC head swapped onto it. An A6 bottom with a Y8 or Z6 head is pretty much still the same as the original Y8 or Z6- it just has slightly higher compression. The displacement, bore, stroke, block height etc are all still the same.
     
  13. SWAPPED_94CIVICVX

    SWAPPED_94CIVICVX New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    YAKIMA AND ABERDEEN
    mini me

    is the mini me better then the stock z6..because you say the mini me has higher compression..i have a z6..
     
  14. MaxxBoost

    MaxxBoost New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Watch the compression with this set up, and GET IT TUNED. This set up is prone to detonation.

    Components to consider getting:

    Thicker Head Gasket (Lowers compression, preferably a copper one)
    Z6 head (Easier hook up)
    Run Premium (Especially if you' plan on being an ass and NOT TUNING it..)
    Low Compression Pistons (Stock ones will work fine, these would make it extremely streetable though, and would check the high-compression/Detonation problem.)
    Air/Fuel Controller (Adjustable)
    Tune It (I can find you the company you can send the ECU out to, they'll give work it down something sick, V-TEC, Adjustable Air-to-Fuel, V-TEC controller, the whole 9, on multiple platforms even if you swap to a DOHC.

    It sounds like alot, but it's really cheap, and ensures the car's gonna be reliable and won't tear itself to shit, you'd prolly make as much if not more torque then a stock B-16, if it's tuned right, that's minus power gains from Breather, Intake, upgraded pipage from header to rear n' the relative...

    Takin a guess...120 horses, 102 on torque..just a guess. Sleeper.
     
  15. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
  16. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    wait hold up using the a6 block should lower the compression compared to the z6 motor. shouldn't it?
     
  17. N/A b18c1

    N/A b18c1 Mysterious

    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Coast
    z6 should be 11:1 something like that
    a6 should be 9:1 as getting a z6 gasket(thinner) should push it to 10:1 just guessing this shit out of the back of my had correct me if im wrong
     
  18. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    see that is what I was thinking although I think the z6 is more like 9.6:1 and the a6 is 9.1:1(unless we're talking JDM) so it shouldn't change that much, but the d16a6 has the lowest compression of the d-series motors so I figured it can't possibly raise the compression of a z6 motor considering doing a head swap is much like installing low compression pistons.
     
  19. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I looked it up but not on this site. :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page