1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16a6 with electric speed sensor ?

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by jaime civic, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. jaime civic

    jaime civic New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    watsonville
    does any body know if its posible to put an electric speed sensor on a d16a6.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes
     
  3. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    ahhvtec how would u go about doing that? my brother in law wanna run a integra xsi cluster that has a electronic vss hookup and eliminate the cable.
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    just get a 92+ civic vss and the run the wires to the proper locations on the cluster
     
  5. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    how does the electronic vss run into the tranny? i know on the cable there is a little plate that holds the cable in. is there a certain way to put it into the tranny bc when i changed the clutch it worked fine and when i put the cable back in the speedo didn't work after that.
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it goes in just like the cable one, both of them the ends will be the same one just has a cable the other dont
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The actual VSS unit is held in with one bolt(has the gear attached to it). Just take out the cable unit and swap in the electric one.
     
  8. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    what if i use the cable one? i am pretty sure it was seated all the way in, i placed the small plate that locks it in and screwed it down. the cable is in the sensor firmly, but no speedo.
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it still could be broke along the way to the cluster
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Check the cable in the back of the cluster.
     
  11. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
    yeah that's what i'm gonna check when we do the obd0 b16a swap. i think he might run a integra cluster so i'll check it when we do that. thanks. sorry if i thread jacked. >_<
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page