1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16y8 swap to a k20a2

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by dudeomega2000, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. dudeomega2000

    dudeomega2000 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    I have a 1996 civic coupe ex. It has a SOHC vtec motor. I am an all motor kind of guy and instead of turboing the d I want to swap a k20a2 from an rsx type-s. I am doing preliminary research on the subject and I want to know what i need to do to make this possible. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. greygoose

    greygoose Junior Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2006
  3. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    As far as I know - which you'll probably see on K20.org x100 times....


    Motor
    Trans
    RSX-S shifter and linkage
    K-Pro, Hondata Reflash, or JDM ECU
    Custom Axles made, or Hasport Axles
    Hasport Mounts
    Relocated Radiator/hoses made to fit, or an RSX radiator made to fit.
    Coolant temp/thermostat insert for hoses
    Fuel reg, custom return and feed (Mugen makes a block and a reg that work together)
    Custom header (DC Sports...etc)
    Bigger fuel pump(?)

    It gets pretty involved, and I believe you can get and interface harness from Hasport that clips into your core harness. A JDM ECU or KPro needs to be used because most USDM K20 computers have an imobilizer built into the key. Unless you have the key from the motor you'll need to have the ECU reflashed to get rid of the imobilizer.
     
  4. dudeomega2000

    dudeomega2000 Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Why a custom ecu

    I looked at your list and every thing looks pretty sound, but the only thing that i do not understand that you need is the hondata k-pro or reflash. and why is jdm ecu listed?????
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    because usdm ecus have an immobilizer, and unless you have the key for that ecu, your car wont start. the reflash can get rid of the immobilizer.
     
  6. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    They are right. You could purchase a jdm ecu and leave it at that. You could purchase a k20a2 (type s) ecu and get the hondata reflash for 600 bucks, or you could just get the k pro along with a k ecu (i want to say most, but dont quote me).

    Youll also need things like fuel lines, clutch lines, maybe a new clutch (oem k20a are good too), youll also need the ep3 pulley stuff, and maybe the k20a2 primary o2.

    look to spend a pretty penny.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page