1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

d16z6 or d16y8

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by jon95egcoupe, May 24, 2008.

  1. jon95egcoupe

    jon95egcoupe New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    westport ma
    whats a better engine d16z6 or d16y8...id like some input on what would be better please post your opinion
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    They're very similar as far as power output goes. If you drive a 95 Civic than the Z6 would be an easier swap for you since it's OBD1.

    I'd say they both have about the same amount of potential...
     
  3. jon95egcoupe

    jon95egcoupe New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    westport ma
    thanx alot im kinda new 2 hondas...ive heard of tha z6 by reading the editorials on honda tuning online and stuff

    :fr:
     
  4. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I agree with Brutal. From what I have learned, mostly from people like he and Blanco (aka The Don Juan of D-series) the Z6 would be the "better" of the two. I really can't remember why though. Where is Blanco to explain such a simple thing when he's needed? haha

    Like Brutal said though, go with a Z6 in your Coupe. It will be a direct bolt-in. All you will have to do is wire up your VTEC, which is just two wires and get a P28 ECU. It's that simple. Take it from me you WILL feel the difference. I thought I was driving a Ferrari after my swap. haha Sad, I know.
     
  5. FObangah

    FObangah New Member

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    Better for what is the real question. Brutals' dead on as far as swaps go, especialy in your case ( 95eg ). Now if you just wanted to know which motor was better by comparison, the y8 had better quench zones ( areas around the valves ) and made just a few more ponies then the z6 did, but not enough to warrant even considering using this motor in YOUR car instead of the z6.
    Now if you REALLY wanted to get technical the y8 head on the z6 block is better then these 2 engines alone.

    Ask BLANCO, he'll tell you everything you need to know about a D-motor
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    :werd:

    Blanco is our a resident D-series expert...
     
  7. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    if your going to be getting th ecar tuned with an obd1 rom editor such as crome or uberdata i would stay far away from the Y8 because of the timing issues. i have always hated the y8 motor, or maybe its just the head that causes it but the bottom end likes to spin bearings more often because of soem oiling issues.
     
  8. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    Interesting I have never had any issues with my Y8. I love it. The power gain I felt was awesome. But keep in mind my car is obd-2. Like everyone has said before me the Z6 is a better option for your application. But if you are just talking about building a motor for power like they stated above me the z6 block with the y8 head would be a good combo although if you were going to do that you could go even further and buy yourself a 1.5 liter block and sort of destroke the motor so to speak.
     
  9. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    your motor is stock right?
     
  10. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
  11. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
  12. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    header, arp head studs, intake, so pretty much yeah. but the guy I bought it from had it turbo'ed for a while but swapped in a b16.
     
  13. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    once you start doing stuff to it and need it tuned or need to run a chipped ecu you will realize that the motor has timing issues. thing is its way too dependant on input from the knock sensor and the ecu corrects timing accordingly, where the z6 isn't.
     
  14. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    I think you need to reread what I wrote...The guy before me had it turbo'ed in his civic hatch. He had no problems with it and it runs reliably now. 0 timing issues then or now..So I'm sorry you had issues but I haven't and neither did he. Besides if I had it tuned I would have a professional do it not myself. I am not good at that yet.
     
  15. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Right, but I think you're answering your own query here. If you're going to get the ECU chipped and tuned then you can fix the knock sensor reliance issue...
     
  16. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    lol, im not the only person to ever have issues when tuning the y8 motor on the actual p2p map. there was an 8 page topic on this exact subject on pgmfi.org, 4 page topic on homemadeturbo then joseph davis actually took a y8 turbo setup on the dyno with a det can and tuned it then posted his results. i guess it really isn't an issue if your motors pretty much stock or not going to be getting tuned.
     
  17. FObangah

    FObangah New Member

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    WERD Brutal ; The knock sensor adjusts timing when it detects detonation right? Stock ECU + Turbo = more air = not enough fuel = detonation, Correct air/fuel ratio by tuning/ map bypass/ VAFC hack/etc. = no detonation = no knock = knock sensor doesn't correct timing = NO PROBLEM

    Anybody tuning anything can and will run into issues. If you don't want any problems, don't touch your fuggin' car. Just leave it stock and drive it 'till the wheels fall off. To say somethnig is a bad idea because some people have problems with it is dumb. Some people have trouble reading, doesn't mean I'm gonna stop.
     
  18. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    What were those people using to tune? If you're working within the confines of a factory map, then obviously there's going to be limitations. That's why most people swap to OBD1 when adding boost...
     
  19. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    See that is my thing. I was thinking tuning wise you shouldn't have timing issues cause that would be altered with the tuning itself. I am not saying you are the only one to have issues and sorry for coming off as an asshole. I love my motor. Since getting it I have been completely sold on the potential of the d-series motors. But anyways, I personally am building a motor on the side with a spare block and I plan on going with the z6 head mainly because of the tuning options of obd-1. So I will have an n/a y8 and a built turbo'ed z6 mini me.
     
  20. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    they were using crome which is in my eyes the best ROM editor. yeah the MAP sets limitaions on tunign boost but nothing else, so thats not even an issue in the discussion. people swap to obd1 so they can actually tune it without haveing to buy a $1500 stand alone unit like AEM.

    just because you tune a car doesn't mean that you will run into issues. the only motor that has timing problems while tuning is the y series motors. download crome free and then look at the P2P maps compared to the P28 maps. the base timign is set at 21* when it shoudl be 12* and the p28 is normal as shit.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page