1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Damn Computer

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by ALLJDM, Feb 15, 2003.

  1. ALLJDM

    ALLJDM Senior Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FLorida
    I have this computer. It's not new, but it's not that old. I would tell the name of the box, but I have stock in them, so I don't want to bash them. But I just had to reformat my computer with no hopes of saving any information!~ I was and am PISSED that I lost everything! Geez. I just needed to vent a little.
     
  2. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    u didnt put any of your files onto disk?
     
  3. ALLJDM

    ALLJDM Senior Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FLorida
    I will start right now!
    now I'm pissed. I lost all my digital camera pics
     
  4. Domeskilla

    Domeskilla Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    What kind of computer Jason? (i bet its compaq/hp)

    Sorry about your computer man, my step-dads compaq does that shit monthly.
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    hope that was a home computer and not a work one.

    just goes to show CD writers are fookin great to have.
    with some re-writable disc's layin around
     
  6. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    yea the compac that i have sucks. Writen in the bios somewhere (not on the hard drive) there is this ghey Compac screen that pops up when the computer is first turned on (before windows opens) and half the time it just freezes on this page for no reason. When we bought a new harddrive, it still did this
     
  7. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...

    another good reason to build your own pc....no ghey useless crap that you wont ever use or that will end up screwing your shit up. i know i am much happier with the pc i built than when i had my HP that took a shit on me after 3 months of owning it.

    :fuckyou: HP
     
  8. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    When the fuck did HP merge with the shitbox Compaq? Well, they pretty much just said "Here Dell, we are tired of selling pieces of ass computers, YOU monopolize the market."
     
  9. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan

    I think it is the computer brands conspeicy to make computers fail on the 91st day of ownership, the day after the 90 day warrenty expires.

    Dude why didnt i get a Dell?
     
  10. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    Dell ownz j00, for 1100, I got a P4 2ghz, 640 MB RAM, 17 in monitor, printer, and free shipping
     
  11. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    i have upgraded so much since i bought the computer, it came with 128 meg of ram, 512 now. 40 gig hardrive @5600rpm, now 40@7200rpm, video card is now 128, sound card is upgraded, (dont remember the specs but it is a soundblasters)new 48X cd burner but i still have a shitty 900mghz prosser (but it is AMD :) )

    Then my monitor is a samsung 19 in (syncMaster 955df) Trinitron wantabe and now when ever your in DOS, it makes this annoying shreeking sound that wont stop untill windows opens.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    colin- you mean the splash screen?
    its on your windows disk.... not the bios. when you installed windows from the compaq branded CD, you get comcrap's version of winblows.

    kazzalite.nl XP owns me
     
  13. Domeskilla

    Domeskilla Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    B - Its a white compaq screen, I have it and I have reformated and DID NOT use the compaq discs, b/c i dont have them. Mine never freezes, but I hate it, it makes restarting take a minute or so.
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if thats the case, flash the bios.
    what bios are you using? award?
     
  15. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    well i spent about 600 bucks building mine, but i also scavenged some shit from that pos HP that i had to build mine. here's what i got:

    -17" HP Pavilion monitor (scavenged from old pc)
    -Pacific Digital 16x DVD rom/40x cd-rom (just bought)
    -4x4x24 cd burner (forgot the name...bought it about 2 years ago and YES i know its slow BUT it works)
    -850mHz AMD Duron Processor
    -256mb RAM
    -20 mb hard drive...5200rpm is what it is i believe
    -HP keyboard (scavenged from old pc)
    -HP optical mouse (just bought)
    -Altec Lansing satellite speakers with subwoofer (shakes the fuckin walls...LOL)


    i built this thing last year and it works pretty damn good. i am gonna upgrade it sometime this summer/early fall. its a lil slow compared to most of you alls i bet...
     
  16. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan

    same here, i used a diffrent copy of win98 (yea i know upgrade but my dad has 1 or 2 old dos programs that dont work with XP) and it still had the flash screen. As for BIOs, i have no idea, I only know how to hide porn on a computer :) and a few other things here and there. :)
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    turn the computer off. turn it back on.

    hit espcape a couple times to turn the slapsh screen off if necessary. on the black dos- like boost up, at the top there should be a logo that says something like AWARD BIOS or a different company
     
  18. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    did it, They are PhenioxBIOs (sp, it is like the az city)
     
  19. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  20. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    cool, thanks for the link, i will work on it tommrow, i need :sleep: right now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page