1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desktop acting up

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by SlushboxTeggy, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    HP Pavilion. Error code BIOHD1.

    A Google search pretty much says the Hard Drive is done. Is there anyway to confirm this or diagnose it further?
     
  2. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    Have you tried just opening the case up and unplugging the HD cables on both ends and then plugging it back in tightly?

    Otherwise...on some hard drive errors i have "jumped" the CMOS jumper to reset and then "jumped" it back into position and all was well.
     
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    What brand is the hard drive?

    After you figure the brand out, you can download the HDD testing tools from the manufacturer.
     
  4. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I guess I'll try that first part tonight. If that doesn't work, I'll have you explain that second part, haha.
    Not sure, guess I'll find out when I open the case.


    Normally I don't even try to fix my computers. Usually when they die, they were getting pretty dated anyway. But this one was working great on Sunday and is still relatively new.
     
  5. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    It looks like this(the red thing)...the jumper color could be different color...

    [​IMG]

    just unplug the computer, move the jumper to the other side of the pin it's not covering for about 10 seconds, then move it back to the original position. plug in and power on.
     
  6. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    test the drive with the mfg specific tools. that will tell you for sure if the drive is bad or not. you may need to let the test run for a few hours.

    if the drive turns out to be faulty, get all or as much data as you can transferred to an external drive or something. this is probably a good idea anyway. anything you dont want to lose. replacing a HDD is really easy and pretty cheap. then you just have to restore the computer, either from a backup, or from the restore discs that probably came with the computer.

    sometimes those computers dont come with discs and you are supposed to make them yourself. if you havent made them, do it now. if the box dies and you dont have the restore discs, you will need to call HP and pay for them.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page