1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

distributor wont line up

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by iwant2drivefast, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. iwant2drivefast

    iwant2drivefast Junior Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Location:
    Nothwestern Oregon
    im trying to put a 1.5 vtec in a 93 civic non vtec, and i cant get the distributor to line up with the mounting holes. i was told that the dist. off the 1.5 non vtec will work on the vtec, but im not seeing how. any help would be nice.
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i'm not sure that dist will work...

    can you get some bolts in?
     
  3. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    a 1.5 non vtec dizzy won't work. you've gotta get a z6 or y8 dizzy.
     
  4. iwant2drivefast

    iwant2drivefast Junior Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Location:
    Nothwestern Oregon


    if i turn the dist. i can get two bolts in but i would have to move the plug wires on the cap to get them to line up.
     
  5. iwant2drivefast

    iwant2drivefast Junior Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Location:
    Nothwestern Oregon
    were can i get a dizzy that would work? CHEAP!!
     
  6. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    ebay maybe?

    search here, someone posted a site for remanufactured distributors at reasonable prices...
     
  7. iwant2drivefast

    iwant2drivefast Junior Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Location:
    Nothwestern Oregon
    is the y8 odb2. and the z6 odb1, or am i just real confused here. sorry for all the stupid ?s but this is my first honda and swap.
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Yes Y8 is OBD II and Z6 is OBD I. You should be able to get one from a junkyard maybe, try www.importsalvage.com if you can't find one locally.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    or, distributorking.com (same name on ebay). hes reliable and his distrubotrs are just as good as oem IMO.
     
  10. iwant2drivefast

    iwant2drivefast Junior Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Location:
    Nothwestern Oregon
    if i use a y8 dizzy i need a p28 ecu, and if i use z6 dizzy i need to use a p08 ecu? am i wrong or what?
     
  11. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You want the SOHC vtec ECU that plugs into your car (in this case, P28). Which distributor doesn't matter as long as it fits the motor and plugs into your harness.
     
  12. jdm94ex

    jdm94ex Senior Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Binghamton NY 13809
    i used a 1.5 dizzy on my z6 i just had to file the holes out then make sure my timeing was right but it ran fine with it
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page