1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need to do anything?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by JDMPlaya, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I recently bought d16a6 head with the following done Street/Strip port and polish, 5 angle intake/ 3 angle exhaust valve job (port/polish plus valve recut) Race springs and retainers , Custom KMS spec. camshaft

    I'm going to be putting this on my vtec block (z6) do I need to do anything to my block to disengage vtec since I'll be swapping a vtec head?
     
  2. Arachnid

    Arachnid Senior Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    why would you do such a thing? some guys did this and their rev limit went only to 5k. i believe a non-vtec ecu would have to be put in.
     
  3. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    edited first post
     
  4. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Easier to just swap the heads...
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    going from a z6 to an a6, worked or not, is quite possible the entirely wrong direction. i'd rethink your steps here...
     
  6. JDMPlaya

    JDMPlaya Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    okay.. So I wouldn't benefit from the power? also would I need to get another ecu?
     
  7. handlebarsfsr

    handlebarsfsr Senior Member

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    the z6 head has a much smaller combustion chamber than the a6, and the a6 has higher dome pistons, the z6, flat pistons. you will be running like an 8:1 c/r, which is going to kill power.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page