1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DOT bans Vista, IE7, Office 2007

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by pissedoffsol, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  2. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Told you vista was poopy.
     
  3. MoSeS

    MoSeS New Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    im so glad i went with XP instead of vista, WoW doesn't work on vista.
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I had vista for like 15 min. I installed a couple games and they ran like shit so I got XP. Then I thought it would be a good idea to get the free version of Office 2007 from my school (since it was free and I needed xcel for an assignment). When I open up Excel for the first time, I'm like WTF? They changed the whole interface and I couldn't figure out how the hell to do anything. After getting really frusterated I just found a copy of Office 2003 on demonoid and used that. Vista + Office 2k7 ftl.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you whiny bitches are afraid of change.

    i still have zero problems with vista, and all games i played previously still work fine.

    o2k7 - you can go back to the classic boring interface as well.
     
  6. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I know that most government agencies avoid upgrading to new OS's for at least a year. I know that when SP2 came out they where not allowed to update until it was tested.
     
  7. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I wouldn't call getting a 20fps difference in the only game you play "being afraid of change". I'll def move over when all the bugs are worked out and the graphics drivers are up to par. With o2k7 you can't go back to classic interface. I searched and searched and then found a Microsoft page confirming the fact. There are 3rd party plugins, but they still don't change the dialog boxes for doing shit, so I couldn't get Equation editor or Excel to do what I wanted. I know I need to learn it, but the night before my lab report is due is not when I want to be doing that.
     
  8. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    vista stinks i hate it and i only used it 10 mins ;)
     
  9. civic accord honda

    civic accord honda PRIMER Accord Club

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Ridgecrest Ca 93555 USA
    vista sucks i only used it for a moth and went back to XP vista might be nice on 1GB pc but not on my 512
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    vista is getting better. three (out of thirty) of our admins use it, and they said "it takes 4 or 5 hours to get used to, but once you do, youll realize the good points"
     
  11. accordin2vtec

    accordin2vtec /Blind|Side\

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Lufkin, TX
    I may be "afraid of change", but I just stick with what I know, and that is that 2GB of DDR2 RAM is FTW on XP :D
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you can get rid of the balloon menus. when i did it i think i had to disable aero as well, and what fun is vista if you cant run aero?
     
  13. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    your system is old and underpowered, much like your hatch :)
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    what are the other specs of your system?

    512MB is not enough memory, thats for sure.
     
  15. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Everyone said this about XP too.
     
  16. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you are correct!
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    XP sucked until SP1, much like vista will suck until SP1
     
  18. civic accord honda

    civic accord honda PRIMER Accord Club

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Ridgecrest Ca 93555 USA
    i tryed RC1 on my old P.C.
    IBM Think Center INTEL Mobo
    Intel Celeron 2.6GHz
    512MB of RAM
    DVD Burner
    Cd Burner
    160GB HDD
    240Watt PSU
    Nvida GE Force FX5200 AGP Video card



    have not tryed it on my new system yet tho probley wont for a few years untel its ass good as xp (but i like 2000 the best just for some reason wont read my 160GB HDD)
     
  19. MoSeS

    MoSeS New Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    BURN!!!!!!! lol
     
  20. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    upgrade to atleast 1GB of ram and a P4 of sorts, then good to go. a better video card wouldnt hurt, but shouldnt be required.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page