1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dual monitors

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by brian11to1, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    my last job spoiled me with dual monitors, now ai feel i must have them.

    how do i go about setting up my computer to run dual monitors.

    ive done some research, but nothing conclusive yet.

    i believe my video car is integrated into my motherboard, i was told if this was the case then i'm screwed. is there any way around it?

    I have a compaq presario... dunno model or anything...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    if you need more info, let me know. i wanna get this done like asap...
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    just add a 2nd PCI or AGP card. thats pretty much it :)
     
  3. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    yea, thats what my fried is telling me. thanks!!!!!!!!!!

    ima be ballin with dual screens... yay!!!
     
  4. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    you'd be ballin' with a bit more ram as well
     
  5. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,632
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I kinda went the other way, I run 2 to 4 machines on one Monitor, mouse and keyboard. Hey Yem do you have to have the same size monitors when you run dual screen or more? I cant remember :(
     
  6. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    nope, but if they could do the same screen resolution that would be nice. it looks better if they are the same size tho
     
  7. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    What do you suggest as far as upgrading RAM? What would I need? I would like maybe 1GB? Post some links please.

    Also, my friend is giving me another video card w/driver software... anything else that I will need to run dual monitors? Like Ultramon?
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Will these work?

    * Memory amount: 2x 512MB
    * Access time: 4.0ns Hynix IC's
    * 500MHz (PC4000) Unbuffered DDR Modules
    * CAS latency: 3 clock cycles
    * RAS precharge: 4 cycles
    * RAS active to precharge: 8 cycles
    * Command rate: 1T (1 cycle)
    * Aluminum heat spreader for thermal diffusion (Black)
    * Latency: 3-8-4-4-1T
    * 2.75V

    [​IMG]

    or this one...

    [​IMG]

    Is there a difference?
     
  9. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    without knowing what type and model computer you have, or the motherboard you are using I can't offer an opinion as to what ram to buy
     
  10. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    compaq presario sr1503wm

    [​IMG]
     
  11. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i have TWO 512MB sticks of PC2700 (which is what you need)

    i'll sell for 40 shipped :) PM me or hit me up on aim.
     
  13. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Im going to see if this dual monitor shit works first, then I'll upgrade the RAM.

    Do not get rid of the cards please... I'll buy them, just wanna get the dual monitors working first.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page