1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU problems

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Rjs4490, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    ive got a 99 gsr w/ ls tranny...i currently have two ECU''s that i been switchin in an out...one is a p28 tunned ecu with 2 step...other is a regular p72...the p28 revs to 9 GRANDish...the p72 only lets me rev to 7 grand....both ecus seem to start v-tec at around 6,500 to 7,000 rpms...whats the problem...should i be using a different ecu? or could it be my v-tec solenoid??? PLEASE HELP!
     
  2. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    so your running an obd1 chipped ecu (p28) on an obd2 gsr motor... what shell is it in? obd1 distributor? stock engine harness? the p72 should rev to 8200 easily, why it isnt is beyond me.
     
  3. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    its in a 94 civic EG Si
     
  4. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Me, personally, would run the proper ecu since the engine is stock. No need to run an ecu that obviously is crossing over vtec at a much higher point than stock. Stock crossover on a b18c1 is 4800 rpm with the proper ecu (obd1 p72)... maybe you have an issue with your signal from the distributor giving u a false RPM reading? Is the oil level full? Are you using an obd1 b-series distributor?
     
  5. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    i dont think its a obd1 distributor...i thinks its the one that comes with the obd2 99 gsr
     
  6. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Did u have this swap done or did you buy the car with the swap done already?
     
  7. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    i bought it done already...a couple people had it before me
     
  8. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    So they hacked the distributor to save a few bucks... I hate that. Get the proper distributor and run the stock obd1 p72 ecu and your problems will be solved im sure.
     
  9. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    also do you know at what rpm i should be shifting at? for my powerban?
     
  10. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    I wouldn't rev it past 8200 rpm. No need to, the engine stops making power there anyway.
     
  11. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
  12. Rjs4490

    Rjs4490 New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    also is there a way to tell if i already have it?
     
  13. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    Yes, that is what you need. Just look at the harness on the distributor, if it was hacked you would definately know.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page