1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ex/Si cluster for 92-95 Civic

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Havok, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    I just got my (supposed) Ex/Si automatic cluster today and installed it on my Dx. I noticed there wasn't a VTEC light on the cluster, I thought there was on the EX/Si--did the bastard send me a Lx cluster? It has cruise control, all that shit, and it had one extra green plug in the back of the new cluster, I didn't have it on my wires for the Dx. I am always paranoid about stupid little shit... :angry:
     
  2. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    a vtec light?? i dunno.. i got my ex cluster today and installed it too and there's no vtec light... and i also didnt have a green plug. but i ran everything and it seemed ok to me.
     
  3. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah, everything runs fine--except my mph stick from like 0-5 or 0-10, but I'm just being picky.
     
  4. nocturnal

    nocturnal Junior Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    uhm, i have a 93 si hatch standard and there is NO vtec light. what the fuck are you smoking?
     
  5. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    A VTEC light is strictly aftermarket on ANY Honda car.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup. No factory clusters have VTEC lights on them- who ever told you that they did?

    0-10 is always going to be iffy on any speedometer...
     
  7. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    Don't flame me! j/k..I dunno, I thought there was a VTEC light on Si clusters...and because my mph sticks from 0-5, it throws my whole mph off...CAI kicks in at 38 mph for me, it says 42 on new cluster (yes I am that goddamn picky!)
     
  8. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    heh, you dont need a light to see when you're in vtec, you better fucking be able to feel it ;)
     
  9. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    dont have my vtec head yet! (see ebay loser) in anything goes
     
  10. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    WTF!! i just swapped it mine in yesterday.. it was working fine.. now the tach doesnt move. it pretty much broke.. im i dont gas it i can shift through the gears without it moving.. but if i drop it a gear and for example its reving at 4grand the tach shoots to 6 and just stays there. anybody got any ideas???? im doing some research right now.
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    youre intake kicks in at 38?????
     
  12. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    yup =( I got an automatic, remember? I have no control over it, it does what it wants to. When SHOULD it kick in?
     
  13. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    What do you mean, "kicks in"? Your car doesn't take in any air until 38 mph? I highly doubt that. Remember the whole thing about needing fuel, AIR, combustion and spark for an engine to fire?
     
  14. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    No, I can FEEL the AEM intake pull the car at 38 mph
     
  15. Ravage

    Ravage New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    200 civic Si cluster green plug

    So I just bought a 2000 Si cluster that says is a direct swap into my 98 dx. however my car does NOT have a green plug that goes into the back of the gauge cluster, and when I turn my car on everything works fine except the check engine light is on. does anyone know what this green plug is for? from what I have read from searching the 'net it's for cruise control, so how would that affect my check engine light? if it's any help, I recently installed a exhaust system and due to a short wiring harness (I will be extending it later) one of my O2 sensors is unplugged. could this be causing it? thanks for any and all help :)

    -Rav
     
  16. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Wow... this was back when Havok was a noob. haha
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page