First time autocrossing

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

5genracer

Hey everyone, this Saturday there is an autocross event in my city. I have never done this sort of thing before, so can any autocross veterans out there give me some pointers? I think it is being put on by SCCA, so I will have to follow their rules.

Setup:
98 dx hatch
d16y8 & 00 EX trans
195/60R14 azenis sports
lowered a little on Apex World sports
NEW front pads with a brake flush :p

I just aligned my car today, and I set the toe to man. specs, but my camber is about 2-2.5 degrees neg. Is there any alignment settings that you use? I have access to a brand new alignment machine at work, so I can adjust for free all day.

Thanks!

Neg camber is good. I'm not sure exactly what class you're going to be in, but its probably going to be in SM which is going to make wish you hadn't just put $15000 in to your civic......well thats what happened to me. Anyway, SM is going to be your class unless they don't notice the motor and tranny swap.
Driving pointers...turn early and slower is better than too fast. Have fun!

its not too much of a bump... but if someone notices you have a VTEC motor in a hatchie that doesnt come with anything but a d15... heh. youll be bumped to SM.

have fun :) and beat the living piss out of your car. dont worry about what everone else is running, just improve your own times. im just passing down from what everone else told me.

since your a begginer, and you still have a basicly stock engine (still a d-series, with no internals) I am sure no one will complain if you just run in STS. Your still going to get murdered, but it won't be as frusterating.

Get a good tire gauge. Check pressure often (changes alot when the tires get hot)

Bump up your tire pressure (on my s03's I ran at around 39psi, and when I get my azenies, I will be running them at around 41ish on an autocross course)

Bring Sun screen and water