grinding into forth

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

9inch

i have a 88 crx w/ a b16a swap and the car runs great, but when i shift into forth gear it grinds everytime. i know i have the clutch down all the way. the only time it doesn't grind into forth is if i shift really slowly, way slow. is my clutch going bad? i never replaced the clutch when i put the new motor in, but there is only about 1,000 miles on the motor since i have had it. i purchased the motor from hmotorsonline.com and they average 30-35 thousand i think. what could be the problem?

sounds like a synchro gone bad or some other internal malfunction, i hope you got some sort of warranty or something man

i have that same problem except it happens with my 3rd gear. anyone with any input and is there something that can be done?

im not very good with this kind of stuff....where do the synchros fall and are they spendy to fix? any help is appreciated!

You're probably better off just replacing the tranny.

Originally posted by Jeef@Dec 19 2004, 03:13 PM
You're probably better off just replacing the tranny.
[post=434462]Quoted post[/post]​

I'd rather rebuild what I have that way I would know what I have. Buying another used tranny is still a crapshoot.

Either way. One thing if its a small grind I have found a fresh fluid change with honda mtf can help delay the problem. It worked on my old civics tranny.

where is going to be the best place to find a tranny online for my b16a? i bought the engine form hmotorsonline.com and they donl't sell trannys alone.

Originally posted by 9inch@Dec 20 2004, 09:09 PM
where is going to be the best place to find a tranny online for my b16a? i bought the engine form hmotorsonline.com and they donl't sell trannys alone.
[post=435160]Quoted post[/post]​