1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

grounding kits

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by redef91, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. redef91

    redef91 Senior Member

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Boston,Ma
    do grounding kits actually do anything for ur car or they waste of money.
     
  2. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    They create a better ground for your components allowing them to opperate better. Well worth it, and there not that exspensive.

    Try streetwires.
     
  3. redef91

    redef91 Senior Member

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Boston,Ma
    thanx

    yea bro thanx for advice.
     
  4. dappa1

    dappa1 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    ye i deff felt a diff in throttle response andgas millege
     
  5. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    [​IMG]
    Home made with Streetwire 0 Gauge wiring an Terminals. Its awesome
     
  6. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    build your own but don't go over board
     
  7. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    i don't think you can go over board, the more grounding capability the better, i could go a bit smaller, but i like the way my fat ones look
     
  8. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    0 gauge is over board and probly cost 3x more than it needed too
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i run a ralli///art evo hyperground kit with a circle-earth terminal.

    works like a charm :) all my factory grounds were like 16ga. the currents ones are 4ga.

    i have the schematic, the wiring kit cost me like 20 shipped on ebay.
     
  10. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    cost isn't a factor, i'm good friends with a local shop owner here an i get it for cost so i'd cost me the same as if you'd buy 4g or 6g.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  12. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    i found that having the grounding locations dispersed instead of one central ground, it also ground the rest of your car well, like the grounds from the wiring in the car, for me, i have my battery in my trunk, an everything works great, spend $100 on a grounding kit, I paid $75 for mine, and its huge wiring. Take this for example; you have a surge of power, where is it going to be dispersed faster, the 4 gauge or the 0g? i realize there probably won't be enough power to utilize all those strands, but i like my chances with 0
     
  13. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i doubt i even expend the 4ga at all...
     
  14. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I use to valet with a Honda guy that did this to every car he bought. He even did it to his Lexus when he got out of the game. However last time I talked to him he was thinking about a 2JZ swap, haha.

    But anyways, I've always wanted to do this I just never knew what gauge wire to get.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page