1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GSR Skunk 2 Manifold?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Harms Way, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. Harms Way

    Harms Way Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone have any first-hand experience with putting a skunk 2 manifold on a GSR? I am very interested in doing this to my 2000 GSR. I can get one from eBay new in box for $200 shipped. My friend and I did the swap on a D16Y8 motor. Are there any down falls? What about the wiring/fuel rail? Will everything line back up good?

    I have been doing a little research and from what I have found, people are saying that the stock GSR manifold restricts air due to it's up-side-down design. Will I still be able to put an after market intake on it and have it line up correctly?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    21,637
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you'll get a CEL
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    9,198
    Media:
    607
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    MD
    no you wont. ive done the swap. if you do it right everything will be fine. but id suggest re-tuning your engine afterwards. you dont HAVE to, but you will maximize the power youll get if you do.

    you will have to use longer studs for the fuel rail, or use bolts. and you may have to use some washers to space the fuel rail as the old spacers will be too thick.
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    49,695
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ... or just get an ITR/b16 fuel rail.

    don't forget the throttle cable too.
  5. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6,104
    Media:
    101
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Stackin cheese to get back to Long Beach
    hmm, i thought you would get a CEL also...so what happens to the IAB's? Well, I mean the sensor at least so you don't get a CEL...does Skunk2 provide you with something?
  6. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    9,198
    Media:
    607
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    MD
    IAB ceases to function as they no longer exist. they are controlled by the ecu, but it wont throw a cel if they arent there.
  7. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    I put a skunk 2 proseries intake manifold on my J-spec b16. Runs great...everything lined up except the fuel rail studs...had to use a thinner washer (hard rubber or plastic). I love it. I lost a little low end...but that thing sings at around 4-5 grand.
  8. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC

Share This Page