1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

h22 swap question

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by hockeymann44, Apr 23, 2005.

  1. hockeymann44

    hockeymann44 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    I have a question concerning a swap I'm performing. I've run out of money, for the time being, swapping an H22 into my 92 Prelude. The original engine was an H23. Can, in theory, I atleast start and run the car using the stock P14 ecu, and the only thing be that I don't have VTEC?

    I don't know if anyone knows the answer to this, but any input is appreciated.
     
  2. mxer518

    mxer518 Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004



    if you are asking if you can use the stock p14 ecu the answer is yes. thats what i did on my 93 lude until i could afford my hondata setup.... it is a good idea to keep it under like 4000 rpm, to be safe
     
  3. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Yeah it'll run, but you'll have considerably less power, and you should take it easy until you get the right ECU.
     
  4. hockeymann44

    hockeymann44 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Thanks guys. I figured you could, with the near-identical things with both the h22 and h23. I don't believe I'd drive it very far, I just want to make sure it runs until I get the JDM ECU to put in.

    Thanks for the replies though.
     
  5. hockeymann44

    hockeymann44 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    another dumb question,

    What about the timing belts between the h22 and h23? same or different? I have a new one in the box for the h23, and if I can use it on the h22, I will, otherwise I gotta get one. Anyone know?
     
  6. hockeymann44

    hockeymann44 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    I just looked it up using autozone.com, and I found that the balancer shaft belt is the same, but the timing belt is different (which makes sense to me). Sorry about that, I forget that I can do part number matches on sites like that :p
     
  7. DesertNightEagle

    DesertNightEagle Senior Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Location:
    Perryville, MD
    yeah, timing belts are totally different. but hey, hondata has p28's for a decent price although you'd want a p72 or a p13.....
     
  8. hockeymann44

    hockeymann44 Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Do you know off hand if anyone has driven a manual h22 on a p13 set up for an automatic? All I have access to is the automatic P13 ecu, and I have a manual car. I didn't know if the park/neutral switches present on automatics would end up not letting me start the car and what not. If all it does it light up the check engine light, that's fine, I don't care if that's all I deal with.
     
  9. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State


    I think it would work, but you would definitely have a code. You might also be able to convert the ECU.

    Consult PGMFI.org for details or info on that.
     
  10. RICK_FD3S

    RICK_FD3S Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    When I did my first H23 to H22 swap the motor came with a JDM atu ECU. I used it for 2 years with not problems and no CEL. Actually when I tryed the 5 Spd ECU the car felt slower to me. SO I put the auto ECU back in
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page