h22a in a 91 'civ si

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

techmage

ok, heres the scoop, my 91 'civ si popped a head gasket, and rather than taking the engine apart to put in a new one and have the same silly stock engine in there i've been looking at replacement engines that will add some additional gonads to my ride. so we begin our adventure. checking out the h22a, i guesss depending on if i get a post '99 version of it i can squeeze 200 ponies outta that powerhouse by leaving the engine stock. even the 190 horse i'd get out of a pre '99 engine would be quite welcome in my civic that up until now was only pushing about 108. so heres where the discussion comes in, i'm new to the honda world, having just gotten my civic in june and having it blow up in early july. if anyone has any warnings like "STOP! your fuel line will route down your exhaust assembly! BOOM!" or the like, shoot me a response. i'd also appreciate any advice from anyone who's pulled this off before or anyone who has a friend somewhere that will hook me up with a h22a for cheap (preferably near sacramento ca) i'll keep y'all posted as to the progress of this project.

If you get a 92-95 JDM H22A, they come with 161 ft-pounds of torque and 200 horsepower out of the box. Don't mess with the silly USDM engines. :D

ok, in talking to some folks, i've managed to find a GSR engine. thats almost as good, but i'm going to keep looking. looks like i'm gonna wind up spending about 3k on this whole project before i even think about adding turbo(s) (thats gonna be even more expensive... i dont even know where we're going to find room for them bastards, i think it'd probably be easier to rear-wheel rear-engine a 8 cyl in there, it is a hatch after all but thats just crazy talk. *pushes the stock 307 from a '70 chevelle malibu back into the garage*) why do i feel like i'm in a bad episode of monster garage?