H22A rebuild

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

accordguy

Ok guys just to make a long story short, I got screwed on eBay with a JDM H22A. So now I’m trying to turn a negative into a positive. Since the 2nd and 4th cylinders are pretty much blown (very low compression) I will now do a rebuild and hopefully end up with a much better motor then I could ever get from an importer.

I just want you guy’s opinion on what I should replace and which parts should be after market parts or OEM parts. For the aftermarket parts which brands should I go with.

I have never done a rebuild before so this information would be helpful.

Use OEM pistons and rings unless you're going to sleeve it, then the skies the limit. Do not run forged pistons on the stock sleeves or you'll be in for a lot more trouble and money then you bargained for. If anything, possibly mahle pistons on the stock sleeves ( this is much debatable though, I read some good and some bad, so do a lot of research before purchasing) but personally I wouldn't. Also keep in mind future plans (forced induction or nitrous). If this is the case, sleeving is the only really reliable way to go.
If your pistons and cylinder walls are in good condition, then you'll be able to get away with just rings and you'll be good to go. You could do much more, I don't know your budget and hp goals.

My goals are to simply get the motor to OEM spec and power, my budget is around 12-15 hundred.