1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

H22A1 Intake manifold Swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by Rolos4us, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. Rolos4us

    Rolos4us Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    Hey what's up guys. I wanted to ask someone since I'm not getting mutch info from anyone else. Does the Intake Manifold From an H22 fit a H22A1 head? I need to replace my Intake Manifold, but I'm wondering if I can gain more power out of the H22. Thanks.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes but your not gona gain any more power unless its a type s intake main
     
  3. Rolos4us

    Rolos4us Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    So basicly It'll be like having the stock intake just out of a prelude. Are there any advantages/disadvantages to doing this?
     
  4. Rolos4us

    Rolos4us Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    Wait a minute. Does this mean I can put a Skunk2 Manifold on my F22A1, while the manifold is actualy made for a H22? Because that would be GRRRRREAT!!!
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    ok what are you working on a f22 or h22
     
  6. Rolos4us

    Rolos4us Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    I'am working on a F22A1.. 90 Accord Ex. There is nothing for the motor that I can do. I'm wodering if I can swap parts from a H22 onto MY F22. Thanks.
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    theres parts out there for your motor
     
  8. alterdcreations

    alterdcreations Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    Gettin lost in N.Y.
    You can modify the h23 intake manifold to work
    their is a link somwhere on it
     
  9. lithiumus

    lithiumus New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    The H series throttle bodies are larger than the F series. If you put an H intake manifold with F throttle body, the throttle body will limit the airflow. If you swap the throttle bodies too, you will need a Prelude intake and do a hybrid mounting solution.
     
  10. Rolos4us

    Rolos4us Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    Ok, where are these parts for my car? I searched the net and can't really get anything. For example, I would really love to get a new Intake Manifold. Skunk2 doesn't make it, and Edelbrock doesn't eather. Where else can I search? and what is a hybrid mounting solution? Like a gasket? or wtf?and if I did get a H22 Manifold I'd definatly get the throttle body to go with it, as you said, it's a bigger diameter intake. Right now, I wouldn't get anything but the whole set-up...Fuel rail, injectors, throttle body, egr valves...etc.
     
  11. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  12. hondarin

    hondarin Please enter a value using 50 characters or fewer. VIP

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas; where else?
    the stock accord air intake hose will fit over an H22 throttle body.
     
  13. lithiumus

    lithiumus New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Really? My F23A1 6th Gen Accord Intake hose did NOT fit over a 2001 JDM H23A VTEC throttle body. As far I know, the JDM H23A VTEC throttle body should be the same as a 5th Gen throttle body.

    The Accord intake was too small to fit over the throttle body. I saw it and tried it myself, it wasn't even close. At least 1/2" too small in diameter. Maybe some of the other Accord / Prelude combos work but a 6th Gen Accord intake will NOT fit.

    I ended up using an AEM intake for the 5th gen Prelude and that fit perfectly.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2007
  14. lithiumus

    lithiumus New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Data from AEM...

    All Accord 4cyl F series engines use 2.25" throttle body diameter size
    Accord 6cyl 6th Gen 98-02 use 2.5" throttle body diameter size
    Accord 6cyl 7th Gen 03+ use 3" throttle body diameter size
    Prelude 4cyl 4th Gen 92-96 use 2.5" throttle body diameter size
    Prelude 4cyl 5th Gen 97-01 use 3" throttle body diameter size

    Maybe if you force an accord intake over a 4th gen Prelude throttle body, it might stretch that 1/4" but there is no way it would stretch 3/4" in diameter...
     
  15. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    If you're changing throttle bodies.....You'll probably be adding an aftermarket intake, and those DO stretch that far.
     
  16. SneakySedan

    SneakySedan Junior Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Location:
    Central NC
    So does that mean if I get an H23 Mani for my F22a I'm going to need to make sure it has the TB on it? Or will my Accord TB work on the Prelude mani?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page