Head Gasket Repair

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

(o)(o)

I'm totally new to Hondas and a newbie on this board, so I apologize in advance if this topic has been covered before. I did look around the help and faq's before posting, so please bear with me.
I recently got a totally stock 95 Civic EX (D16Z6) automatic coupe with a blown head gasket. The previous owner reports the car overheated last summer, and it blew the head gasket then. It was repaired (i don't have details yet as of who fixed it, and how). Anyways, the car began to get hot on him again about 3 weeks ago, but he turned it off before the temp. needle got too high. The head gasket still blew.

I already bought the head gasket, valve cover gasket, int/exh manifold gaskets, and the timing belt, all from Honda. I have disconnected both the intake and exhaust manifold off the head. Q: How do I loosen the timing belt tensioner? Do I need to remove the driver side motor mount to replace the t-belt? Is it necessary to mill the head? How much milling is too much? What's the proper loosening head bolt sequence? Do I need to buy new head bolts too? How many pounds of torque should I put on the head bolts? What's the proper sequence? Does the forum have a favorite Honda dealer to get parts from? Anything else I should know?

An AC question, too: If I turn the AC button on with the engine off and the ignition on, are BOTH (rad and condenser) cooling fans supposed to kick on, or only one?

Thanks to all, and sorry about the long, rambling message.

(o)(o)

i'll try to answer as much as i remember...

you should not need to remove the motor mount to get at the tensioner ... i took my front left wheel off. hoist it up and move the splash guard... easy access.

in the articles section i wrote a short tightening sequence for b series.. i imagine it is similar, but its been like 2-3 years since i took apart a d series so i dont remember exactly what the sequence was.