1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

head swap questions

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by toyzbus, Oct 9, 2002.

  1. toyzbus

    toyzbus Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    I am trying to do a head swap on my freinds Del Sol (d15b7) head and intake off of my old d16z6. We have the head on and I have wired up the vtec and pressure switch. The only things I am running into is that the way that the coolant lines run is slightly different different. The d15 block has two outlets from the pipe behind the block coming from the water pump where the d16 didn't. The d15 intake also had an extra inlet that the d16 one doesn't. Has anyone had experience with this swap? If so please let me know. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    theres another post abot this. you have to remove something.. let me look
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  4. toyzbus

    toyzbus Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    Thanks for the reply. That didn't help me out much, though. I already removed the oil contol jet and have the head on, though. My problem is that the way the coolant lines are on the two engines are slightly different.
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    you probably need new radiator hoses if thats what you are asking
     
  6. wildbillhatchbac

    wildbillhatchbac the OG VIP

    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    just run the hoses to where they have to go. .. . if you have to splice them together or split them off, then do it. I can't really understand what hoses you are talking about.
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    29,876
    Likes Received:
    3,796
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    i just did the exact same swap ... i had no issues with missing or extra lines ... did you hook it all back up right???
     
  8. toyzbus

    toyzbus Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    What I was talking about is the bypass hoses from the connecting point to he IAC, the fast idle thermo valve and the head. The hoses are routed slightly different between the two motors. The d15 also has an extra outlet on the connecting pipe on the driver's side that the d16 didn't. The d15 also had an inlet on the head that the d16 didn't. What I ended up doing was I plugged the outlet on the driver's side and ran the hoses how the d16 had it routed.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page