1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP? B15 -> B16 Vtec

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by GermanCivic, Oct 29, 2002.

  1. GermanCivic

    GermanCivic Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Hi! :)
    SORRY! I men the 1992-1995 engines! B15 and B16 I think.!!
    I have a Civic with 1.5l 90HP and got a 1.6l 125HP Vtec engine with transmission + Ecu ! Now my question, can i swap the motor 1:1 ? What do I need new? Or can i deduce those 2 machines?
    Thx for all information!!

    Felix from germany :lol:
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,516
    Likes Received:
    511
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    it is D15 and D16, B motors are DOHC :)
     
  3. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    The Full swap should not be too tough. I assume you are talking about D series nonVTEC to Dseries VTEC.
     
  4. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    the only thing that will realy be tough (and it is fairly simple) you will have to wire for VTEC.
     
  5. Baker

    Baker Senior Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    screw that, why does everyone wire? Just get the proper harness for the engine. It eliminates most wiring
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    29,876
    Likes Received:
    3,794
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  7. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,142
    Likes Received:
    288
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Why spend many hours to swap harnesses when it takes under 2 hours to change all the wires that you need to change.
     
  8. Baker

    Baker Senior Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    umm, swapping a harness with the motor in the car takes only a few hours. When the motor is out of the car it take almost no time at all.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    MOTOR harness is easy- the DASH is not- and guess where the VTEC wires lie-- in both. have fun re-wiring your dome light, your radio, your CEL, your spedo lighs, your glove box light, blah blah, or add 3 wires.
    your choice.
     
  10. djyox

    djyox Senior Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Twin Cities, Minnesota

    I have no idea witch is the better way, but I'm going with this sales speach...... :werd:
     
  11. GermanCivic

    GermanCivic Junior Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Hi thanks for your informations, has anyone a guide which cables i have to change? I thought about buying the proper harness..
    thx!
     
  12. Baker

    Baker Senior Member

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL

    ok, run the dash wires buy the engine harness, I don't trrust running to many wires under the hood, theres a lot going on in there tempature and vibration wise and things can come loose
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page