Help with engine decision for 89 civic

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

89civictyper

I own a 89 honda civic dx hatch back but mine is a little deffrient for one it has the 4 spd trans with a 1.5 liter engine in it so yeah it's really slow and sucks now i can't really decide on if i want to put a b16 motor or a zc motor in. the reason i'm not sure is because well i want to do it my self and every body that i have talked to around my area dosen't know what would fit due to it haveing the 4 spd trans in it. so i was woundering if i got a complete swap using the ZC motor (which is a DOHC motor) would every thing fit right in with out to much change over that i would have to do (by that i mean i'm taking out the 4 spd and puting a 5 spd in) oh yeah i'm on a budget also so please help me i'm new at this 4 spd thing. thanks

The zc will fit but you will want a dx, zc, or si tranny. You will need to change the hubs so you can fit bigger brakes and axles up front.

You can also do the b16. If you are on a budget plan on a couple hundred extra for some parts to make it work right.

Do think that the 4spd is a total shit box, you have a very light car.

also, anyswap u do u will have to change from DPI-MPFI, then go for the swap. i suggest b16's. im mad at myself for going b18, b/c i see many low 14 second CRX's out here, with only i/h/e/