Hi, I just bought a '90 CRX Si

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

crx3.jpg

crx5.jpg

I have until July '05 to finish the car, and I want to spend $12,000 or less. I want to go for a conservative/sleeper look:
crx_green1.jpg

(partly because I am sick of getting tickets in my bright red Integra)

I plan to have a custom interior which will most likely weigh considerably more than the stock.

I brought it to the weigh station last night and it currently weighs 2080 lbs. (by the way does that sound right? I think the CAT scale may have been incorrect?)
My target weight range is probably going to be between 2250-2500 lbs.

I haven't put any thought towards suspension yet.

Right now it has the stock D16A6 @ 215k (obd0, SOHC, non-VTEC, 108bhp@6000rpm, 100lbs/ft@5000rpm).

I have no experience with Honda engine swapping yet. I've got plenty of time to go slow and do it right.

So my question is, what will be the best engine swap to make for this CRX? Specifically, what issues would I encounter considering the following engines? Taking into consideration OBD, availability of 1.5 LSD's, proven turbo's available, custom cutting/welding if any, kits available, etc, etc, etc.

B16A SiR (seems like best bet, this is probably what I'll do)
B17A1 (6lbs/ft of torque worth added headache?[compared to B16A SiR])
B18C1
B18C5
D16Z6 (underpowered and hard to justify with B16a SiR considered?)
D17A2 (not likely)
H22A (NOT an option so don't try to sell me on it)
K20A (could be an option if I had another year, also, if I did manage to get it in, would it throw off the balance like the H22A?)
ZC (easiest I know, but I want more. Possibly a VTEC conversion/head?)

I'm in the planning/part buying phase so give me all the analysis you've got. Thanks in advance for all the hondaswap.com wisdom, heh.