1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Do I By-pass Boost on a Stock Ecu

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by kmvue, Oct 6, 2003.

  1. kmvue

    kmvue Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    :huh:
    Please help, any body know a cheap way to by pass the stack ecu when it reads boost?
    I have a b18a1 with a b16a head and the car is stalling at about 5000 rpm with the vtec and boost are about to kick in together.
    I heard there was a way to that uses check valves somewhere on the manifold or throttle lines?
    If someone could help, please send pix or info to me at

    Hmoob_rice@hotmail.com
     
  2. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    missing link, blue box, both off of Ebay for less than 100.00 maybe even less than 50.00
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    missing link is your best bet.
     
  4. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    out of curiosity.....did you do the turbo install yourself?

    did you research it thouroughly?

    or did you buy the car as is?
     
  5. Accordturbo94

    Accordturbo94 Senior Member

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002

    :poop:
     
  6. kmvue

    kmvue Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    :D
    well, thanks alot for your help, but i found the problem, u use the check valves on your map sensor to release air when the boost kicks in so the sensor doesnt read boost, just full throttle.

    And I installed to turbo my self. its One of those made from a mitsubishi turbo with a custom manifold.
     
  7. 96coupeb18

    96coupeb18 Senior Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    If you run the AFC hack is it correct that you do not need the missing link ???
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    correct.

    the hack alters the map sensor voltage into negatives... so that when it reaches say 8 psi of boost, it comes close to 0 volts. and thus, the map sensor never throws a code.
    its a pigggy back ahck
     
  9. 96coupeb18

    96coupeb18 Senior Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Whats the link for the page with instructions on the hack again pissedoffsol, and also could I run the hack with no FMU as well, because wouldn't the V-AFC be my Fuel Management???


    Nevermind I found it !!

    AFC HACK INSTRUCTIONS HERE!!
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if you are running the hack, you don't need an FMU
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page