1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to hook up shift light.

Discussion in 'Body / Exterior / Interior / Cosmetics' started by jamesA, Aug 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jamesA

    jamesA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,580
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    wrong place, wrong time
    Do I need a safc or hondata to hook this thing up? if not what do i hook the wires to?

    There's a green, red and black wire. I'm assuming black is for ground. Where would red and green go to?

    Thanks for any help.

    ps if this is in the wrong forum, sorry. :)

    btw NotUr... I got it like forever ago... I think I sent you a PM but here's a pic. Thanks. :)

    [​IMG]
  2. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,006
    Media:
    135
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    i'd assume that red goes to power, black to ground and the green to somewhere in the wires going to the tach..
  3. jamesA

    jamesA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,580
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    wrong place, wrong time
    blah... i knew this was in the wrong place. looked right at first...anyway...

    I found a pdf on autometer.com... should be good to go.
  4. ssl2k

    ssl2k Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    solder all yer connections and red just goes to power, black to neg, and run the green wire directly into your dizzy to your coil. This will g ive you the best reading for true rpms of the motor....(the green wire goes to the neg side of the coil. make sure it is directly to the coil...inside the cap...mkae a notch and you'll be set.



    nathan
  5. Prowler

    Prowler Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B MT


    yeap, but is that shiftlight for only 4 cylinders or does it work for 6 and 8? if so, you'll have to cut two wires, like I did on my Proform shiftlight.
  6. jamesA

    jamesA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,580
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    wrong place, wrong time
    It's a multi light, works on 4 6 and 8. what do you mean cut wires?
  7. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    well if it's set for 8, it's going to read double of the true RPMs I believe. This will make the light go off at half of the point you want. Something different has to be done with that green wire, or with something else. The power/ground wires go the same place no matter what. It's impossible to know without seeing the wiring diagram/manual for the certain light. They are all different.
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    wouldnt the distributor turn at the same rate for both motors anyways(half the speed of the crankshaft)
  9. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    well, an 8cyl distributor has to fire twice as many plugs in one rotation than does a 4cyl. I'm not sure what that means for the voltages. I know for a tach you definitley have to do it differently. Without knowing how that light works in particular, I have no clue. You could be right.
  10. ssl2k

    ssl2k Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    just read the instructions that it has with it as far as setting it up for a 4//6/8. a v8 will show half the rpms and a v6 2/3s of the real rpms.

    i almost blew up my damn motor the night that i put my tach/shift light in because i had it set at the v6 setting.

    wire it up according to my other instructions.


    as far as the 4/6/8 there should either be a thing on the side wehre you can select the # of cylinders or there should be 3 little loops of wires. if yours has the clicker selector thingy, then just set it to the right number of clyinders. if it is the few different loops of wire, then you'll need to i believe it is autometer.com and search for there tachs/ w shift lights and they explian which wires to clip.

    nahtan
  11. jamesA

    jamesA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,580
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    wrong place, wrong time
    the 4,6,8 is on the back. There's a howto on autometer.com telling me where everything should go. I just need to get some wiring so i can run it through the grommet I ran my power wire through... then i gotta mount the light someplace you can't see it from the outside.
  12. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,006
    Media:
    135
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ



    a/c vent yO!!
  13. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    i thought tachs run off how fast the pulses are coming from the dizzy. ive seen(on horsepower tv) v8s still use a trigger in the dizzy; usually points type(they converted it to a halls i think).
  14. jamesA

    jamesA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,580
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    wrong place, wrong time


    I'm not running the wires through the ac vent. I still have a few of the panels left off so it'll be easier to hide them that way.
  15. Vtecmonster08

    Vtecmonster08 Vtecmonster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    know how to caLIBRATE the autometer?
  16. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,186
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    OHIO
    stop bumping old ass threads with your damn tach problem
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page