1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to install the aem intake

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by tightcivicgirl, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. tightcivicgirl

    tightcivicgirl Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Location:
    new orleans, louisiana
    i have a short ram aem intake and i bascilly know a little about how to do it but there is this plug and i would like to know is there something from my motor that plugs into that plug becasue i have a 97 honda civic here are some pictures of the plug and intake THANKS for ya'll help i will really would appreciate it. :) i dont see a place where i can load some pictures up can u tell me how to do that too THANKS i'm new to this site
     
  2. integraslut78

    integraslut78 Stylus DJ Extraordinaire

    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Location:
    KiLLa kALi
    It should have came with instructions. Sorry I am no help I would need to see it.
     
  3. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    There should be 2 holes on the intake, right next to each other. One is a nipple, that connects to the hose that runs to the intake manifold. The other (I believe this one is the 'plug' that you're talking about) is where the IAT sensor plugs in. It's a 2-wire sensor that should go on the intake tube around 6" or so from the throttle body (I'm not sure of the exact measurement...something like 6" or so). The wires are red with a white stripe and green with a white stripe, if memory serves me correctly.

    :)
     
  4. jastunna1987

    jastunna1987 Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    on my short ram, i have a vacuum line running from the intake to the valve cover. Should we have the IAT sensor in aftermarket intake? Or should it remained plugged?
     
  5. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You should have a vacuum line AND an IAT sensor if your car is OBD2 (96-up). If it's OBD1 or OBD0 (pre-96), then the IAT is on the intake manifold, and you should only have the vacuum line on the intake manifold.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page