1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to tell if Vtec engages?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by autox 89 dx, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. autox 89 dx

    autox 89 dx Member

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    SF bay area
    I finished my SOHC ZC with Z6 head swap about two weeks ago and the car runs great, but how can I tell if the v-tec is working?Also what is the rpm that should engage?
     
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    you should here or feel it...
    i dont know exactly but it should be around 4400rpm
    you can hook up an led to the switch that tells you when your in vtec.just splice the positive into the vtec switch wire and run the negative to a ground
     
  3. JDMB20Coupe

    JDMB20Coupe Powerd With 1 Cam

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chester, VA
    what color is the vtec wire on a stock harness is it blue?
     
  4. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    the one coming from the oil switch
     
  5. JDMB20Coupe

    JDMB20Coupe Powerd With 1 Cam

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chester, VA
    is that with the 2 wires or one?
     
  6. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    which one? from the solenoid or pressure switch?
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    dude you should know when vtec engages... your car should double in power. if not its messed up!
     
  8. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    dude you should know when vtec engages... your car should double in power. if not its messed up!
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    not on a single cam.. its hardly noticeable
     
  10. JDMB20Coupe

    JDMB20Coupe Powerd With 1 Cam

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chester, VA
    theres 2 plug one is in the solenoid one is below it which one is he tapping into?
     
  11. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    DOUBLE the power and DOUBLE the posts! lol jk jk

    But anyway, yeah like eg6 said its going to be hard to tell with a single cam. Damn near impossible if you ask me.
     
  12. prpprimo

    prpprimo Hondaholic

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    ABQ
    Lower speeds it's noticeable. Like INJEN said, you will hear it. Especially with a performance intake. I know mine is loud as shit.

    and uh..shit is loud. ^_^
     
  13. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    True, on my girlfriends R18 it activates so subtly that your cant tell, engine just gets gently more grunty. I know its i-VTEC but still. If you have a cold air intake and/or exhaust you would no doubt be able to hear it alone.
     
  14. squeals

    squeals New Member

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    yeah, i have a stock DX hatch. no vtec for me...........it's sad im a honda enthusiast without vtec
     
  15. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    minime time?!?and even on a single there should be a noise change or a little power change,,something
     
  16. JDMB20Coupe

    JDMB20Coupe Powerd With 1 Cam

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chester, VA
    yea i can hear mine but the wierd thing is everything ive read about my ecu says it comes on at 5500 but when i hookd up th light like you said it comes on at like 4400am i nuts or are the things ive read wrong?
     
  17. 94H_Ex

    94H_Ex Under employed

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Florida

    i have two vtec heads for sale. ones a Z6 head, the others a Z1. so. either or. gas mileage, or more power. :cool:
     
  18. LS_ integra_delsol

    LS_ integra_delsol New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    sonora CA.
    no every sohc vtec motor ive had kicked in about 5600-5800, but yeah you should be able to hear it or feel it just listen closely because sohc motors dont tend to hit vtec like the dohc ones do if the head is stock
     
  19. autox 89 dx

    autox 89 dx Member

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    SF bay area
    Well it does rev a little bit faster but its not really noticable all the time but the car is way faster than before. I wasn't sure if it was working or not.Should I get the car tuned? its a ZC with a Z6 head.I have the typical I/H/E ,AEM cam gear, B&M command flow, MSD 6A external blaster coil with MSD cap rotor & plug wires.
     
  20. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    if it wasnt engaging wouldnt it only rev to like 5k and throw a code?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page