how to time

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

minivan

ok i just out a new head on my d16 and i need to know how to get it timed so it will run thanx

Okay, I'm not an expert on the d16 but this is a general way to do the timing. Before you start moving anything around, inquire as to whether the motor is an interference motor. This means that if the valves were open all the way, and the piston was top dead center(TDC), then they would hit each other. I time my integra motor in the following way because it is an interference motor.

1. Before you first remove the old head, you want to set the #1 piston to TDC. If you have the valve cover off, you will notice that when the crank pulley markings are lined up for TDC, the valves will be fully closed. You will also notice that there is a timing mark on the cam gear, and that mark should be pointing straight up.

2 If you pulled the head off without doing this, it makes for a little more work but, not much more. Assuming you didn't do step 1, and you have already put the head back on, Turn the crank slowly, so you don't run a piston into a valve on accident. Position the crank so that it is niether TDC nor BDC, but somewhere in the middle of its stroke. This will give you room to turn the camshaft without tapping one of the valves into a piston.

3. Use a suitable ratched or wrench to turn the camshaft until the timing mark on the gear is pointing straight up. You will note that the valves are closed, i.e. the cam lobes are not pushing on the rocker arms. I am not sure on the d16, but on the b18, there is drilled hole in the camshaft, and a little tab with a hole on the cam holder that line up, and you can stick a screwdriver or something long and roung that keeps the cam from rotating inadvertantly.

4. Now rotate the crankshaft so that its timing mark is showing TDC. I used a white crayon to make the mark more visible on the pulley, as well as on the timing belt cover.