1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hub and axles

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by kricket3000, Dec 24, 2006.

  1. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    hey guys, i'm going to be doing a zc to 88 crx hf swap. i was woundering if anyone can give me info on what hubs and axles to use?[links,parts list, etc] i used to have a parts list but i can't find it. thanx for any info bob
     
  2. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    You'll have to use CRX/Civic DX or Si hubs to get the same sized brakes. You can also use 90-91 integra front spindles/hubs and get larger brakes but some people say it messes up your suspension geometry. I am running them and have noticed no problems (I AutoX my car and it handles fine). You can also get larger brakes by getting 89-91 Civic EX spindles.
     
  3. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    tanx for the info,anymore on the axles?bob
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I think you can just use normal D-series axles form a DX or Si, but I don't really know, I've never done a D-series swap.
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Get the 88-91 DX/Si knuckles and axles. If you want the larger 10.3" brakes, go for the 90-91 EX ones since the knuckles are lighter than the DA ones.

    I have complete DX knuckles if you need some ;)
     
  6. charliemopps24

    charliemopps24 Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    You can upgrade to a 5 lug hub at the same time.
     
  7. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    thanx guys for the info. it's my daily driver can i use my hubs and axles,to get me back on the road,then stay out of the gas until i change them later or do i have to do it at time of sawp? as far as the 5 lug would that be overkill it's only a zc? what car would i get a 5lug off?thanx bob
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    5 lugs is overkill unless you're set on running larger wheels that only come in a 5-lug pattern. Also, the ITR 5-lug hub only works with EX and DA knuckles IIRC. Some guy did complete Integra 4x114.3 knuckles swap on his CRX and had a crazy amount of positive camber. He had to slam it just to get zero camber. Not a wise move if you take your turns through the twisties and do alot of daily driving(bottom out easily).

    You can use your stock hubs as long as you stick with the HF axles. The axles are pretty much the same length except that they have different spline diameters on the hub side.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  9. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Yes, you will have to swap the hubs with the swap. You can't run HF axles with the ZC motor.
     
  10. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    thanx for that info, do you think i should change it all at time of sawp, if so what axles setup up should i use? now one of you telling me yes and one no,who to trust?lol i have heard that i can use them and i can't for the past 3 months,???????????????????? if not, tell me why and if i can please tell me why? tanx bob
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  11. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
  12. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I don't understand what you're confused about. The HF axles have fewer spines than the DX/SI ones so when you swap in the ZC you'll need to swap in the new spindles to fit the new axles. Since the ZC is a D-Series, I assume you can use regular d-series axles (non HF/STD) for the swap. However, I don't know this for a fact, I've never done a d-series swap.
     
  13. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    thanx for your help, i've never done a swap before so i'm kinda slow i was hopeing someone else has done this before and could tell me there setup[88crx hf] bob
     
  14. EFOptmst

    EFOptmst New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    You need 90-93 teg axles because of spline count into the zc, a jdm engine, check out FourthGenHatch
    however it doesnt mention the knuckles/hub swap, but I know you have to do it
    Honda Swap Information
    is more helpful, as far as model specific goes. Neither mention an injector resistor for the dpfi to mpfi but I think you need one off a car that has one
     
  15. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
  16. EFOptmst

    EFOptmst New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
  17. USDM CRX DX-R

    USDM CRX DX-R New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Actually, this is not true! You CAN use HF axles and hubs with a ZC swap (or ANY other D-series swap), provided you do not use a ZC transmission. The splines on HF/STD axles are different from DX/SI axles at thehub. But they are IDENTICAL at the transmission. So you can simply pop your HF axles into an HF/DX/SI transmission with no problems.

    But with this said, there are advantages to upgrading. Although a stock ZC will probably not overwhelm HF axles, the DX/SI axles are stronger. Also, you will have to upgrade your brakes if you go with DX/SI axles and hubs. This is probably a good idea anyways, since you are more than doubling HP. But also keep in mind that DX/SI brakes WILL bolt onto HF knuckles (this is precisely the setup on the Civic STD).
     
  18. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    thanx for the info man, that helps alot i'm going to the junkyard soon to see what i can find. ok so i'm looking for dx/si axles/hubs, i'm a little confused you said i'll have to upgrade my brakes, so does that mean keep my hf knuckles and put the brakes on them or get the dx/si knuckles,or does it matter? will i have to get biggers rims? i'm all about upgradeing the brakes the, hf brakes suck a$$$$$$$ i've wrecked the car a coulpe of time because of them.[not to bad, only cosmetic] thanx bob
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2007
  19. EFOptmst

    EFOptmst New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Sorry I forgot to mention the zc transmission I just figured youd get it since it would come in the package deal and would not be a bad idea. I just remembered we were talking about a crx and not a civic, so this is as far as I go. I was about to argue about the brake setups.
     
  20. kricket3000

    kricket3000 New Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    thats ok, thanx anyway, i just went to the junkyard and they had 2 dx's but they were auto does it matter? they also had 2lx's will they work and are the brakes the same size? i thought i read somewere that the spline count i needed was 26 is this correct? thanx bob
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page