1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i got screwed and need help bad.

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by 93y7, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. 93y7

    93y7 New Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    a kid told me he had a d16y8 head and i went by his word and i bought it. it turns out that is is a z6 head because the casting numbers are p08. i bought a 105300 cam from compcams for the y8. i already installed the springs into the head along with the cam. is it possible to run the y8 cam in the z6 head?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea i think your ok, but wait for some more ppl to chime in
     
  3. sohcslammer

    sohcslammer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    yes it will physically fit
     
  4. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    X2.
     
  5. 93y7

    93y7 New Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    what timing belt would i use with putting a z6 head on a y7
     
  6. 93y7

    93y7 New Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    i dont know i never thought of it that way. sorry. and thanks for the help. very well appreciated
     
  7. 93y7

    93y7 New Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    wait a second. even when using a y8 cam in the z6 head the timing up mark would still be off by 4.5 degrees?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page