I have some time and want to tune the system

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

chestercheeto48

VIP
I finaly have some time this weekend to take out my seats and tune my stereo that I had installed last Nov. What are some good pointers to follow? In the past I burned a cd of some different types of music that I listen to and then tried to get the best average sound. Is this a decent way? I am not a pro and I am not going to compete but I would like it to sound the best I can.

Specs:

infinity reference interior
2-JL 10w3v2 (?) in a factory box
Eclipse amp for interior
JL audio amp for the subs
Eclipse deck

Quoted post[/post]]
I finaly have some time this weekend to take out my seats and tune my stereo that I had installed last Nov. What are some good pointers to follow? In the past I burned a cd of some different types of music that I listen to and then tried to get the best average sound. Is this a decent way? I am not a pro and I am not going to compete but I would like it to sound the best I can.

Specs:

infinity reference interior
2-JL 10w3v2 (?) in a factory box
Eclipse amp for interior
JL audio amp for the subs
Eclipse deck

i would get the cd the pros use and do it that way. to me this makes the best and most crisp sound no matter the type of music. I believe it is the spl cd.

um ok...would this cd have a name? i know you can get tone cd's but that dosen't really help me. I am not trying to be an ass but I am on my 6th jack single barrel so nothing really make sense right now....

I'm not drunk and much of this doesn't make sense.

What are you able to tune? IE What are you going to adjust?
Gains? Crossovers? Does your HU have an EQ? What kind (graphic or parametric)? How much eq(# of bands)? Time alignment?

What are your expectations? What are you doing with the rear speakers, are they just for fill?

Maybe I'll give you some pointers when I have some info. But here's my test cd spiel: