I think I'm getting raped!!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

mtnbkrpnk

Someone tell me, since I'm still a newbie at this kind of stuff....I just had to get new axle boots, and o2 sensor, and the dealership is charging me $1,000...... :blink: :angry: :( Is my gut feeling right? I'm getting raped aren't I??

bend over an grab your ankles...i would never pay that. WOW go some where else. even buying the parts through the dealer should be no more than $300. that gives them 700 in labor.

matt

Here is the rundown:

The 75,000 service around $180

The boots: $400 or so

The sensor: $390

and labor.......

Didn't i just read that I could go buy a sensor for under $50 bucks? That sucks. You live and learn....Reminds me why I'm trying to learn all i can about doing it myself. Dealerships take advantage of you bad! Even when I bought the car, I thought I was getting a good deal on it, and I go home, and I find my loan is for $3,000 above blue book!! :angry: Only private party deals from now on.

the service and the O2 sensor sound about right as far as the dealer goes, but $400 for the axle boots is rediculous. I could buy 2 brand new axles for that much. godd luck though

matt

WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY to fucking much!!!!!!!!!

Boots cost about $10 per side, and the o2 runs about $120, $200 max. You got gangbanged.

If he went to a Honda dealer, the boots cost approx. $32.00 Per Boot. plus labor.
Also most honda dealers go off of flat rate when it comes to labor. for those of you who are like " whats flatrate? ", they go off of how long the Mitchell labor book says it will take for a tech to complete the job. it might not actually take that long, or it might take longer, but that way the service advisor can give the customer an accurate price quote. and also if they run into a problem, or the tech is slow, the customer doesnt end up paying extra. the tech just looses money

so 32.00 per boot X 4 = 128.00