1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iac Idle Question

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by fork, Apr 19, 2003.

  1. fork

    fork Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    So I have the Idle bouncing problem that we always hear about and I can't find any vacume leaks but I have a couple of questions.
    How do I check the IAC
    What are the signs of a bad map sensor
    and how do I chack the map sensor.
    thanks alot guys
     
  2. Danabis

    Danabis Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    if your tps has 2 screws instead of rivets just adjust it till the bouncing idle goes away or do it right and have someone put a meter on it. if it does have rivets not sure how ya adjust it
     
  3. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
    Read the article in reference section I believe. I have the same problem and you check by unplugging the iac while cars at idle and see if idle goes up which it should but if it just sits there then its a bad iac.
     
  4. superchargedcivic

    superchargedcivic Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    hi read my info in the high idle topic hope that helps
     
  5. honda_mach3

    honda_mach3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Snap-On Part number SO-QQT24-J85, Special Honda Diagnostic CPU. This tool reads all the sensors readings, malfunctioned sensor or fuses, etc. Tells you want to do too. big bucks though. $1500
     
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    click articles... click on the one i wrote about erratic idle.

    and yes.. if you unplug the iac, the idle should go up and the CEL should go on
     
  7. wtc7676

    wtc7676 Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, Ga
    I just had this problem, mine was caused by a resevoir (Im guessing that is what it is) on the bottom of my thottlebody. You can try taking it off and take the end off of it. It has a plastic plug in it that had come unscrewed. Hope it helps.


    Will
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page